Company Menu

On average, employees at Columbia University give their company a 4.0 rating out of 5.0 - which is 5% higher than the average rating for all companies on CareerBliss. The happiest Columbia University employees are Research Scientists submitting an average rating of 4.9 and Postdoctoral Research Scientists with a rating of 4.5.

29%
50%
18%
3%
0%
4.0
Average Rating
(based on 76 Columbia University Review Ratings)
Company Culture
4.0
Growth Opportunities
3.5
People You Work With
4.4
Person You Work For
4.3
Rewards You Receive
3.6
Support You Get
4.1
Way You Work
4.2
Work Setting
3.9
Advertisement
Director of User Services
Posted 6 months ago in New York City, NY

"Started in 2011, ended in 2014 as a result, of all things, from being promoted. Did my job to the best of my abilities and found the clientele a joy to deal with and interact. This plus being accepted by some of my colleagues and a good number of my coworkers, made the transition from tech to lead very rewarding. But, with all good things, there was bad. I'll just label it, the Dean's office! It was the place where you just had to tip toe through, well, everything! The admin manager, she is, was, is the real issue. Doesn't help when you promote a culture like the one she promoted. Just not healthy. That said, would do it EXACTLY the same way again, being that I really did get a lot done!"

Person You Work For 2 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 2 / 5
Support You Get 3 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 2 / 5
Company Culture 3 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5
Columbia University Employee
Posted 6 months ago in New York City, NY

"I worked for C.U. College of Dental Medicine on temporary assignment. But during that time I found it to be a strong company with good ethical values and a emphasis on patient care."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5
Company Culture 5 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Clinical Research Assistant
Posted 7 months ago in New York City, NY

"I have worked for CUMC since Mar 2011. It has been a great experience. I have been given opportunities to lead my own projects and helpful feedback on performance. It is a great environment to learn and practice your abilities. I would recommend it a good starting place if you are looking to work in the areas of medicine, engineering or psychology."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5
Company Culture 3 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5
Security Manager
Posted 7 months ago in New York City, NY

"Awesome company to work for."

Person You Work For 4 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5
Support You Get 3 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5
Company Culture 4 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5

Average Columbia University Ratings in the Past 2 Years

Year Salary
2011 $4
2012 $4
Columbia University Employee
Posted 8 months ago in New York City, NY

"Columbia University is a great place to work. Lots of good science/research going on and great infrastructure. The only caveat is the salary."

Person You Work For 4 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 2 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5
Company Culture 3 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Lab Assistant
Posted 9 months ago in Washington, DC

"Being a student employee at UDC for more than 3 years has nurtured my career and also prepared me for future career goals."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5
Company Culture 4 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Columbia University Employee
Posted 11 months ago in New York City, NY

"Been at Columbia for 6 years."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 1 / 5
Support You Get 2 / 5 Rewards You Receive 1 / 5 Growth Opportunities 1 / 5
Company Culture 5 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Senior Analyst
Posted last year in New York City, NY

"Columbia University is very well known, not much more I can add. The Dept. of Systems Biology is great and we are doing great things"

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Support You Get 4 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5
Company Culture 5 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Research Scientist
Posted last year in New York City, NY

"I have been working at the Columbia University (CU) for 12 years. CU is one of the eight of the American Universities belonging to Ivy League."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5
Company Culture 5 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Columbia University Employee
Posted last year in Orange Beach, AL

"I suspect the company has a very positive corporate culture that did not seem to filter into the admissions department. This department, filled with caring, educated professionals, was sadly, in my opinion, working with a micro-management mentality that exhibited a controlling and disrespectful attitude toward employees."

Person You Work For 4 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 3 / 5
Support You Get 3 / 5 Rewards You Receive 1 / 5 Growth Opportunities 2 / 5
Company Culture 3 / 5 Way You Work 2 / 5
Columbia University Employee
Posted last year in Orange Beach, AL

"In my opinion, over controlling micro-management toward education, professionals but may have been department rather than company. Saying yes to company CEO recommendation in light of insight only with departmental experience. Left before I could have a fulfilling professional experience."

Person You Work For 4 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 3 / 5
Support You Get 3 / 5 Rewards You Receive 2 / 5 Growth Opportunities 2 / 5
Company Culture 3 / 5 Way You Work 2 / 5
Columbia University Employee
Posted last year in New York City, NY

"A good place to learn new technology, not a place to stay long term, horrible upper management."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 2 / 5
Support You Get 2 / 5 Rewards You Receive 2 / 5 Growth Opportunities 2 / 5
Company Culture 4 / 5 Way You Work 2 / 5
Columbia University Employee
Posted last year in New York City, NY

"I've been working for Columbia University for 2 years. It is very bureaucratic, which makes it difficult to do my job sometimes. The workplace is awful - old, dirty, terrible building employees that I have to work with."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 3 / 5 Work Setting 1 / 5
Support You Get 2 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 2 / 5
Company Culture 1 / 5 Way You Work 2 / 5
Research Scientist
Posted last year in New York City, NY
Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5
Company Culture 5 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Columbia University Employee
Posted last year in New York City, NY

"Great environment, great coworkers and job!"

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5
Company Culture 5 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
We noticed that your web browser is outdated!

Update your browser to have a more positive job search experience.

Upgrade My Browser

×