Company Menu

Maxim Healthcare Services Reviews

On average, employees at Maxim Healthcare Services give their company a 3.2 rating out of 5.0 - which is 17% lower than the average rating for all companies on CareerBliss. The happiest Maxim Healthcare Services employees are Charge Nurses submitting an average rating of 4.6 and Healthcare Recruiters with a rating of 3.1. Browse Maxim Healthcare Services Reviews by Job Title →

5
6
8
7
0
3.2
Average Rating
(based on 26 Maxim Healthcare Services Review Ratings)
Company Culture 3.1
Growth Opportunities 2.4
People You Work With 3.7
Person You Work For 3.4
Rewards You Receive 2.6
Support You Get 3.1
Way You Work 4.0
Work Setting 3.4

Maxim Healthcare Services Jobs

View All »

58 Maxim Healthcare Services Company Reviews and Ratings


Anonymous Employee
Posted last month in Phoenix, AZ

"Very Unhappy with this company. Low pay and disrespected by the office staff including DON and Administrator. No rewards or benefits when you give 110% but they are quick to throw you under the bus and lie to patients and family members. The administration wants to make money anyway they can. Very sleazy! Beware! I have been with them for 3 years with nothing too show. I make less then any other nurse out their at skilled facility or hospital. Time for a change."

Rewards You Receive 1 / 5 Growth Opportunities 1 / 5 Person You Work For 1 / 5
People You Work With 4 / 5 Support You Get 1 / 5 Work Setting 1 / 5
Way You Work 4 / 5 Company Culture 1 / 5
Team Leader
Posted 4 months ago in Columbia, MD

"I worked at Maxim since 2010. The company is filled with good people, however the pay there is not that great. I would recommend this company to others as a starting job, but I don't think it's anything to make a career out of. The retention of employees has been terrible."

Support You Get 4 / 5 Work Setting 3 / 5 Way You Work 3 / 5
Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Person You Work For 5 / 5 Company Culture 4 / 5
Growth Opportunities 2 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5

Company-Industry Rating Comparison

3.2
Maxim Healthcare Services (58)

4.8 Highest Rated in this Industry is Harlem Hospital Center (13)
2.2 Lowest Rated in this Industry is Nightingale Home Healthcare (10)
3.6 Average of All Companies in this Industry (7,531)
HR Business Partner
Posted 4 months ago in Columbia, MD

"I worked there 10 weeks and "resigned". I was surprised and shocked at the politics and hate to say that you should not work for this company."

Growth Opportunities 1 / 5 Way You Work 1 / 5 Company Culture 2 / 5
Person You Work For 2 / 5 People You Work With 2 / 5 Support You Get 3 / 5
Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Work Setting 1 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 8 months ago in Colorado Springs, CO

"The recruiters they have only care about the paycheck, not the patient. The receptionist at my office referred to me as a babysitter. Also told one of my pts that the pt was a burden to the company.Want a day off, forget about it! You can give them a month's notice and they will still drop the ball. When confront them on this issue they said, You should have just taken it off and then said the patients need to be responsible for their own care. They don't know what their company stands for."

Growth Opportunities 1 / 5 Support You Get 1 / 5 Company Culture 2 / 5
Rewards You Receive 2 / 5 People You Work With 1 / 5 Person You Work For 2 / 5
Work Setting 3 / 5 Way You Work 3 / 5

Average Maxim Healthcare Services Ratings in the Past 3 Years

Year Salary
2011 $4
2012 $2
2013 $2
Education Program Manager
Posted 9 months ago in Columbia, MD

"Maxim Healthcare has 30,000 employees in offices across the country. I enjoyed my work there tremendously, and was sorry to see the deletion of my position. The company was technically smart, requiring all employees to learn new software on a regular basis."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5 Support You Get 5 / 5
Company Culture 5 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5
People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 11 months ago in Newport News, VA

"I've worked with Maxim Healthcare Services since 2011 and all I have seen the company do is make promises and not deliver on anything promised to the grunt workers."

Support You Get 1 / 5 Company Culture 1 / 5 Way You Work 2 / 5
Person You Work For 3 / 5 Work Setting 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 1 / 5
Rewards You Receive 2 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted this month in Sacramento, CA

"When I was hired, I was never informed that I was now under contract to Maxim & Sutter Health. Because of this, I was not allowed to apply to any positions at Sutter Health. I could develope relationships with management, but was not allowed to strive for any positions at the company. This was very frustrating and I had to quit so that I could became eligable for a position at Sutter Health."

Company Culture 3.3 / 5 Way You Work 3.3 / 5 People You Work With 3.3 / 5
Support You Get 3.3 / 5 Work Setting 3.3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3.3 / 5
Rewards You Receive 3.3 / 5 Person You Work For 3.3 / 5
Registered Nurse
Posted last year in Orlando, FL

"Recruiters lie, low pay, regularly mess up payroll."

What do you like about working at Maxim Healthcare Services?

"Flexible schedule, but nothing else positive to say about this company."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Don't! This is a bad company to work for and they will lie about compensation to get you on board."

What don't you like about working at Maxim Healthcare Services?

"Horrible management (they always lie about everything), low pay, no communication or follow-through."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Treat employees better, pay increase and be more honest with employees and patients."

People You Work With 3 / 5 Support You Get 4 / 5 Company Culture 3 / 5
Way You Work 4 / 5 Person You Work For 1 / 5 Work Setting 3 / 5
Growth Opportunities 1 / 5 Rewards You Receive 2 / 5
Charge Nurse
Posted last year in Hartford, CT

"Very positive."

What do you like about working at Maxim Healthcare Services?

"I like the flexibility and HR. They were able to work around my school schedule."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Be yourself, dress professionally, and avoid slang."

What don't you like about working at Maxim Healthcare Services?

"I dislike that they didn't pay more."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Pay more per hour or increase salary."

Growth Opportunities 3 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 5 / 5
Support You Get 4 / 5 Company Culture 5 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5
Nurse Recruiter
Posted this month in New Port Richey, FL

What do you like about working at Maxim Healthcare Services?

"I liked the variety, speaking with the nurses, and calling on hospitals and nursing homes for business."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"I believe that the company has closed, at least the New Port Richey office."

What don't you like about working at Maxim Healthcare Services?

"There was no room for advancement; there were only two people in the office."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Give more resources to the employees so that they can do their jobs better."

Support You Get 2 / 5 Company Culture 3 / 5 Person You Work For 3 / 5
Rewards You Receive 2 / 5 People You Work With 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 1 / 5
Way You Work 4 / 5 Work Setting 2 / 5
Senior Recruiter
Posted this month in Columbus, GA

"I wasted 2+ years working for this company."

What do you like about working at Maxim Healthcare Services?

"I despised working for this company, and management is equal to used car salesmen."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Stay away from this company at all cost. In all honestly, don't work here unless you are desperate for a paycheck."

What don't you like about working at Maxim Healthcare Services?

"My dislikes are: terrible work/life balance, incompetent management, lunches are frowned upon and we are chained to our desks 10-12 hours a day, no room for advancement, regional leadership is a complete joke, the CEO is completely out of touch with the reality of the company, the good ol' boy system, the company doesn't care about employees or patients and only focuses on the bottom line, the nickel and dime business model, and the managers who only know how to micromanage."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Show competence in policies and procedures. Do your job - lead. Be honest with internal staff."

Support You Get 1 / 5 Growth Opportunities 1 / 5 Person You Work For 1 / 5
Work Setting 1 / 5 People You Work With 2 / 5 Company Culture 1 / 5
Way You Work 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 1 / 5
Online Marketing Manager
Posted 2 years ago in Columbia, MD

"We built a strong team and didn't rest on our laurels."

What do you like about working at Maxim Healthcare Services?

"Good culture and environment with a positive and constructive team approach."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"The company is changing and it may be a very different company in a few years - culture, drivers, and leaders."

What don't you like about working at Maxim Healthcare Services?

"The leadership did not understand the benefits of effective marketing, and some of the management were challenging to work with."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Allocate resources to grow the business, if that is what you truly want to do."

Person You Work For 3 / 5 Support You Get 4 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Growth Opportunities 3 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Company Culture 5 / 5
Way You Work 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5
LPN
Posted 2 years ago in Grand Rapids, MI

What do you like about working at Maxim Healthcare Services?

"It gets worse every month. They recently took the only perk we had, time and a half for working holidays, away. Last month they gave 25% of my work away on a whim. Now that I have work with another agency, they pester me constantly to take it back. No thanks!!!"

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Save your gas and stay home. I had to come in this month and play with a rubber doll for two hours of minimum wage."

What don't you like about working at Maxim Healthcare Services?

"I dislike the pay and the office staff. There are no benefits, holiday compensation, or continuity of patients unless they demand you."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Recruit some clients. Give some benefits to the field staff."

Person You Work For 2 / 5 Support You Get 1 / 5 Growth Opportunities 1 / 5
Way You Work 3 / 5 Work Setting 2 / 5 Rewards You Receive 1 / 5
People You Work With 1 / 5 Company Culture 1 / 5
Registered Nurse
Posted 2 years ago in Fresno, CA

What do you like about working at Maxim Healthcare Services?

"It is pretty much steady work most of the time."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Ask what they offer to retain their nurses"

What don't you like about working at Maxim Healthcare Services?

"There are no pay raises, accumulation of sick leave, or vacation time."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"They need to make changes in some things to retain nurses."

Rewards You Receive 1 / 5 People You Work With 3 / 5 Person You Work For 3 / 5
Work Setting 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 1 / 5 Support You Get 3 / 5
Company Culture 3 / 5 Way You Work 3 / 5
Senior Recruitment Specialist
Posted 2 years ago in Gardena, CA

"My experience at Maxim has been very valuable."

What do you like about working at Maxim Healthcare Services?

"I like the feeling of satisfaction from my work on a daily basis."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"The company as a whole is awesome, but you should have a very specific goal in mind; otherwise, you will get lost in the masses."

What don't you like about working at Maxim Healthcare Services?

"I do not like the fact that our company has become so corporate that they forget about the main goals."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"I feel management should see that, with entry level positions, it's easy to have people get tasks done, but they should also know how to train future managers."

People You Work With 5 / 5 Person You Work For 4 / 5 Company Culture 2 / 5
Support You Get 3 / 5 Rewards You Receive 2 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5
Growth Opportunities 2 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
We noticed that your web browser is outdated!

Update your browser to have a more positive job search experience.

Upgrade My Browser

×