Company Menu

Wellpoint Reviews

On average, employees at Wellpoint give their company a 3.9 rating out of 5.0 - which is 3% higher than the average rating for all companies on CareerBliss. The happiest Wellpoint employees are Consultants submitting an average rating of 5.0. Browse Wellpoint Reviews by Job Title →

19
18
12
4
1
3.9
Average Rating
(based on 54 Wellpoint Review Ratings)
Company Culture 3.8
Growth Opportunities 3.6
People You Work With 4.2
Person You Work For 4.1
Rewards You Receive 4.0
Support You Get 3.9
Way You Work 4.0
Work Setting 3.9

85 Wellpoint Company Reviews and Ratings


Anonymous Employee
Posted this week in Colorado Springs, CO

"WellPoint is a health benefits company. They are ranked as one of the largest health benefit companies offering network-based managed health care plans to employers, individuals, and seniors.The goal was to implement a web-based payment interface to allow a member to view and pay their monthly bill online using a credit card/check. I was kept on and extended to be part of the team that helped with Phase 2, which was to implement paperless billing. This was a huge project, impacting multiple systems on front end and on the backend."

Growth Opportunities 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Support You Get 5 / 5
Person You Work For 5 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5 Company Culture 5 / 5
Way You Work 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 5 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted last month in New York City, NY

"WellPoint, a leading health insurance plan, has acquired numerous companies over the past decade and is also an independent licensee of Blue Cross Blue Shield Association in 14 States. As a manager supporting the Senior Reporting and Analytics Department, I focus on delivering critical and complex reporting and analytical projects to WellPoint business, Senior Management, and the Federal reporting requirements, handle multi-million $ projects comprising 15-30 technical resources and business personnel's, and durations ranging between 6-18 months over the last 6 years."

Company Culture 4 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Person You Work For 4 / 5
Work Setting 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5
Way You Work 5 / 5 Support You Get 4 / 5

Company-Industry Rating Comparison

3.9
Wellpoint (85)

4.5 Highest Rated in this Industry is Flying J (10)
2.5 Lowest Rated in this Industry is Word & Brown Insurance Administrators (9)
3.6 Average of All Companies in this Industry (6,116)
Independent Consultant
Posted 6 months ago in Lamar, IN

"Back when I work for Wellpoint, yes I would say the company was good. I had great supervisors that cared and I strong management team that backed the employees. Just like all companies you have your ups and downs but internally I felt my unit was a great unit."

Growth Opportunities 5 / 5 Person You Work For 5 / 5 Company Culture 5 / 5
Work Setting 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Support You Get 5 / 5
Way You Work 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 5 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 6 months ago in Maryland City, MD

"Good Experience. Helped me Grow."

People You Work With 5 / 5 Company Culture 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 5 / 5
Growth Opportunities 5 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5 Person You Work For 5 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5

Average Wellpoint Ratings in the Past 3 Years

Year Salary
2011 $4
2012 $3
2013 $4
Anonymous Employee
Posted 6 months ago in Richmond, VA

"I've worked with Wellpoint for 15+ years, the pay and benefits are good but the bureaucracy and outsourcing have made it a challenging environment to move up."

Work Setting 3 / 5 Support You Get 3 / 5 Company Culture 3 / 5
Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5 Way You Work 3 / 5
People You Work With 5 / 5 Person You Work For 5 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 7 months ago in Virgin, UT

"Good company overall. I worked in the Government Business Division. Felt like we were doing a good thing - the work mattered because we were helping less-fortunate people get healthcare. However, the good was outweighed by a management culture that was too much high-school politics and cliques in management. Competent coworkers and relaxed atmosphere are good. Lots of stealing credit for work by management."

Person You Work For 1 / 5 Work Setting 3 / 5 Way You Work 1 / 5
Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Support You Get 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 1 / 5
People You Work With 5 / 5 Company Culture 3 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 7 months ago in Deerfield, IL

"I've worked at Wellpoint since 2002. Like the company. Good culture."

Growth Opportunities 3 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5 Support You Get 5 / 5
Company Culture 4 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5
Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 Person You Work For 5 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 7 months ago in Thousand Oaks, CA

"WellPoint HR was the least honest and non ethical. Nobody answers the hotline or takes your complaint seriously if you have any issue with your boss. The managers are able to punish and harass hard working employees for personal purposes. Perjury and unfair practice are encouraged. Be careful. Don't get yourself into the situation that you call the hotline or trust HR for help to result discrimination or retaliation or harassment issues. They will say one thing and do another."

Work Setting 2 / 5 Person You Work For 1 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5
Support You Get 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 2 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5
Company Culture 1 / 5 Rewards You Receive 2 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 8 months ago in Denver, CO

"I worked with Anthem and they say they are one of the most ethical companies. But in the technology, they do not want to admit the truth and allow their websites to have multiple vulnerabilities."

Work Setting 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 2 / 5 Way You Work 2 / 5
Company Culture 4 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Person You Work For 2 / 5
Support You Get 3 / 5 Rewards You Receive 5 / 5
Senior Application Developer
Posted 9 months ago in Woodland Hills, CA

"My department head assigned me to implement a pilot Oracle project. Among 200+ programmers In a thousands employees, I was selected in ten for a impact DB2 project from ground up. I am luck to have those supervisors with vision and worked well. I will work hard to make the project successful no matter what kind of technology has been used old or new, I just bridge old and new."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5 Company Culture 4 / 5
People You Work With 4 / 5 Support You Get 4 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5
Rewards You Receive 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 4 / 5
Senior Project Manager
Posted 9 months ago in Chicago, IL

"Great company to work for, really enjoy working there."

People You Work With 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5
Company Culture 5 / 5 Support You Get 5 / 5 Person You Work For 5 / 5
Work Setting 5 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Senior Graphic Designer
Posted 9 months ago in Woodland Hills, CA

"My experience with Anthem BlueCross was mixed. In the early years it was a great company with lots of excitement and we had a goal. After Anthem bought us out, the culture was more muted. It's still a solid company to work for."

People You Work With 3 / 5 Support You Get 4 / 5 Company Culture 3 / 5
Growth Opportunities 3 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5 Person You Work For 4 / 5
Work Setting 3 / 5 Rewards You Receive 5 / 5
Tableau Analyst
Posted 9 months ago in Mason, OH

"I'm working for client Wellpoint and developing BI views, reports, dashboards, charts and it's been nice working with Wellpoint."

Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5 Person You Work For 5 / 5
Way You Work 4 / 5 Support You Get 4 / 5 Company Culture 3 / 5
Work Setting 3 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5
QA Analyst
Posted 11 months ago in Columbia, MD

"Hard working, exceed the expectations, deliver on time, accurate. Reliable."

Support You Get 5 / 5 Company Culture 5 / 5 Person You Work For 5 / 5
Work Setting 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5
Rewards You Receive 5 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted this month in Mason, OH
Person You Work For 3 / 5 Work Setting 3 / 5 Way You Work 3 / 5
Company Culture 3 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 People You Work With 3 / 5
Support You Get 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5
We noticed that your web browser is outdated!

Update your browser to have a more positive job search experience.

Upgrade My Browser

×