Company Menu
5
5
3
1
0
4.0
Average Rating
(based on 14 City of Chicago Review Ratings)
Company Culture 3.6
Growth Opportunities 3.5
People You Work With 4.5
Person You Work For 4.2
Rewards You Receive 3.5
Support You Get 4.2
Way You Work 4.1
Work Setting 4.0

19 City of Chicago Company Reviews and Ratings Browse City of Chicago Reviews by Job Title →

Anonymous Employee
Posted last month in Chicago, IL

"Great place to work. Maureen West is really nice, showed me to my mentor and got me set up on a project even though I came in without much of a plan."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 3 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 1 / 5 Growth Opportunities 2 / 5
Company Culture 4 / 5 Way You Work 2 / 5
Substitute Teacher
Posted 2 months ago in East Chicago, IN

"I've worked for The School City of East Chicago since 2004 and it has been fun. There's nothing like kids to brighten up your day.We've had our challenges, but what I've learned is it's important to keep a sense of humor through it all. I really appreciate all the adults who have assisted me. They're great!"

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5
Support You Get 4 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5
Company Culture 3 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5

Company-Industry Rating Comparison

4.0
City of Chicago (19)

4.5 Highest Rated in this Industry is New York City Transit Authority (14)
2.8 Lowest Rated in this Industry is City of Atlanta (15)
3.7 Average of All Companies in this Industry (3,496)
Anonymous Employee
Posted 7 months ago in Chicago, IL

"The job itself is very fulfilling. Management leaves a lot to be desired. Middle management has less training than the technicians themselves, which leaves the technicians to rely on each other."

Person You Work For 2 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 3 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5
Company Culture 3 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5
Senior IT Engineer
Posted 7 months ago in Chicago, IL

"Loved it. It was a great place to work."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5
Company Culture 5 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5

Average City of Chicago Ratings in the Past 2 Years

Year Salary
2011 $4
2012 $4
Anonymous Employee
Posted 10 months ago in Chicago, IL

"Great place to work, the people are great."

Person You Work For 4 / 5 People You Work With 3 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 2 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5
Company Culture 3 / 5 Way You Work 3 / 5
Systems Administrator
Posted 2 years ago in Chicago, IL

"excellent system administration experience"

What do you like about working at City of Chicago?

"excellent working environment. Provided enough training and opportunities to learn new technologies"

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"The company honors attitude and hard work. It gives excellent opportunity to learn new technologies"

What don't you like about working at City of Chicago?

"There was nothing I didn't like about this company it was very good"

What suggestions do you have for management?

"They have excellent management and so I have no suggestions"

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5
Company Culture 5 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Traffic Control Aide
Posted 2 years ago in Chicago, IL

"The job here was rewarding, its nice to work outside when wheather was nice."

What do you like about working at City of Chicago?

"I like that everyone works independently, meeting people from all walks of life is really interesting."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Dress warm, drink plenty of water and be on time, this is the only way that you will make money at doing this."

What don't you like about working at City of Chicago?

"Working in extreme temperatures was the hardest part of my job."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"When wheather conditions are hazardous, supervisors should make some kinds of accomodations."

Person You Work For 4 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 1 / 5
Support You Get 2 / 5 Rewards You Receive 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 1 / 5
Company Culture 2 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5
Compliance Officer
Posted 3 years ago in Chicago, IL
Person You Work For 4.3 / 5 People You Work With 4.3 / 5 Work Setting 4.3 / 5
Support You Get 4.3 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4.3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 4.4 / 5
Company Culture 4.3 / 5 Way You Work 4.3 / 5
City Clerk
Posted 3 years ago
Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Support You Get 4 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 4 / 5
Company Culture 4 / 5 Way You Work 3.8 / 5
Project Member
Posted 3 years ago
Person You Work For 3.9 / 5 People You Work With 4.8 / 5 Work Setting 3 / 5
Support You Get 3.1 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3.9 / 5 Growth Opportunities 1.2 / 5
Company Culture 2 / 5 Way You Work 4.8 / 5
Senior ERP Specialist
Posted 3 years ago
Person You Work For 4.8 / 5 People You Work With 4.7 / 5 Work Setting 4.9 / 5
Support You Get 3.8 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4.8 / 5 Growth Opportunities 4.9 / 5
Company Culture 4.9 / 5 Way You Work 4.9 / 5
Customer Service Trainer
Posted 3 years ago in Chicago, IL
Person You Work For 1.1 / 5 People You Work With 3 / 5 Work Setting 1.2 / 5
Support You Get 2.1 / 5 Rewards You Receive 1.1 / 5 Growth Opportunities 2.1 / 5
Company Culture 2 / 5 Way You Work 2.1 / 5
Adult Education Specialist
Posted 3 years ago
Person You Work For 4.8 / 5 People You Work With 4.9 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Support You Get 4.8 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3.1 / 5 Growth Opportunities 4.9 / 5
Company Culture 4.9 / 5 Way You Work 4.9 / 5
Telecommunications Specialist
Posted 3 years ago in Chicago, IL
Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5
Company Culture 4 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
MPD Driver
Posted 4 years ago

"It takes too long to become a permanent worker"

What do you like about working at City of Chicago?

"the money"

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"don't"

What don't you like about working at City of Chicago?

"the lay offs"

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Mayor richard Daley is my manager what kind of suggestions would you have for him"

We noticed that your web browser is outdated!

Update your browser to have a more positive job search experience.

Upgrade My Browser

×