Company Menu

Zales Reviews

On average, employees at Zales give their company a 3.9 rating out of 5.0 - which is 3% higher than the average rating for all companies on CareerBliss. The happiest Zales employees are Sales Associates submitting an average rating of 4.6 and District Managers with a rating of 4.0. Browse Zales Reviews by Job Title →

3
6
1
1
0
3.9
Average Rating
(based on 11 Zales Review Ratings)
Company Culture 3.9
Growth Opportunities 3.8
People You Work With 4.1
Person You Work For 4.3
Rewards You Receive 3.9
Support You Get 3.4
Way You Work 3.9
Work Setting 3.7
Posted 6 months ago in Irving, TX

"I have worked for Zales for over 4 years and have seen the company grow from being on the eve of dissolve to back to profitability. Its great to be with a company that really took a hard look at itself and realized the course that needed to be taken to bring back the organization to a viable and competitive company."

31 Zales Company Reviews and Ratings

Citrix Architect
Posted last week in Irving, TX

"Zales is a good company, Experis is a resource they use for their professional services."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 3 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5
Support You Get 3 / 5 Rewards You Receive 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5
Company Culture 3 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5
District Manager
Posted 5 months ago in Irving, TX

"I have worked for Zales for over 4 years and have seen the company grow from being on the eve of dissolve to back to profitability. Its great to be with a company that really took a hard look at itself and realized the course that needed to be taken to bring back the organization to a viable and competitive company."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5
Support You Get 4 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 4 / 5
Company Culture 4 / 5 Way You Work 3 / 5

Company-Industry Rating Comparison

3.9
Zales (31)

4.4 Highest Rated in this Industry is Louis Vuitton (9)
2.4 Lowest Rated in this Industry is J.Crew (8)
3.6 Average of All Companies in this Industry (2,311)
Anonymous Employee
Posted 5 months ago in Riverside, CA

"I have worked for Zale Corp for more than 4 years and have enjoyed my experience. A lot of companies are afraid to look at itself to make the necessary changes to its culture in order to ensure long term growth and prosperity, but Zales has. Improving technology, enhancing training and development and focused on building a strong succession plan."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5
Support You Get 4 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 4 / 5
Company Culture 4 / 5 Way You Work 3 / 5
Sales Associate
Posted 2 years ago in Charlotte, NC

"Easy way to earn extra money, and they were flexible with my schedule."

What do you like about working at Zales?

"Zales had the policy that anyone can afford a diamond. Love that they were open to anyone being their customers, not just those who could afford 5-figure jewelry."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"You truly have to love customer service for Zales- whether the price is $99 or $10,000, a purchase @ Zales is a splurge for the customer, and he/she needs to be indulged & fussed over."

What don't you like about working at Zales?

"Coming from a department store, I didn't love having only one product to sell."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Maintain the enthusiasm and good attitude toward anyone who walks into the store- it was a great place to work."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5
Company Culture 5 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5

Average Zales Ratings in the Past 2 Years

Year Salary
2011 $3
2012 $3
Jewelry Consultant
Posted 2 years ago in Newington, NH

"Horrible People to Work For"

What do you like about working at Zales?

"At first I enjoyed selling the items and talking to the customers"

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"The money is good but the pressure is high. If you can handle the environment good for you but the people there are sharks, I'd look at a different job to be honest."

What don't you like about working at Zales?

"My manager openly mocked me at every opportunity, blamed me for things that were not my fault, and constantly disrespected me. I was poorly trained on top of that."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Really start looking into your managers, especially if you have a high turn over for employees"

Person You Work For 1 / 5 People You Work With 1 / 5 Work Setting 3 / 5
Support You Get 1 / 5 Rewards You Receive 2 / 5 Growth Opportunities 1 / 5
Company Culture 1 / 5 Way You Work 2 / 5
Financial Reporting Manager
Posted 2 years ago in Irving, TX

"I enjoyed my time there very much"

What do you like about working at Zales?

"I enjoyed the many challenges and the many learning opportunties"

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"I do not have any tips for inteviewers for the compnayInterview there a geat experience"

What don't you like about working at Zales?

"There were nothing I did not like about the company"

What suggestions do you have for management?

"There are no suggestions for management I think they did a great job"

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5
Company Culture 5 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Assistant Manager
Posted 2 years ago in Anchorage, AK

What do you like about working at Zales?

"The people I work with. They are very friendly and it gives work a more family oriented place"

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"It is very slow paced, you must have a lot of patience and be able to deal with a variety of customers."

What don't you like about working at Zales?

"There is no advancing unless someone quits. It is very difficult to get any type of credit."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"More bonuses. Maybe chances to advance in the company sister stores."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 2 / 5
Support You Get 2 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 2 / 5
Company Culture 5 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Jewelry Consultant
Posted 2 years ago in Altus, OK

"I've had experience getting to know others and growing into a better person."

What do you like about working at Zales?

"I love the people I work with and also creating a connections with guests. Making guests happy is my overall favorite."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Be very detail oriented, have a good work ethic, and most of all, you need to be a people person!"

What don't you like about working at Zales?

"Sometimes it can get very stressful, but that has never discouraged me!"

What suggestions do you have for management?

"I think our manager should be a little tougher on some of the employees that do not administer the same amount of work ethic as I do."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5
Company Culture 5 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
District Manager
Posted 2 years ago in Denver, CO

What do you like about working at Zales?

"Developing the people under me. Seeing them grow in sales ability."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Don't have any tips. This company is practically out of business now."

What don't you like about working at Zales?

"Theft. I managed jewelry stores and there was a lot of theft in the malls."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Keep stocks to a minimum to deter theft. Often there was too much merchandise in the cases and it was easy to break into them."

Person You Work For 4 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Work Setting 3 / 5
Support You Get 4 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 4 / 5
Company Culture 4 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5
Manager
Posted this month in Vancouver, WA
Person You Work For 3.1 / 5 People You Work With 4.1 / 5 Work Setting 3.7 / 5
Support You Get 2.9 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3.5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 4 / 5
Company Culture 3.1 / 5 Way You Work 4.5 / 5
Store Manager
Posted 3 years ago
Person You Work For 4 / 5 People You Work With 4.5 / 5 Work Setting 3 / 5
Support You Get 2 / 5 Rewards You Receive 2.8 / 5 Growth Opportunities 2.6 / 5
Company Culture 3.4 / 5 Way You Work 3 / 5
Jewelry Technician
Posted 4 years ago

"Questions were adequate for this job position."

What do you like about working at Zales?

"I like the management and employees. The schedule I had was good."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"This company is good for a part-time job."

What don't you like about working at Zales?

"How I was treated the last three years I worked at zales. I was treated badly by my supervisor."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Hire people that care about the employees."

Distribution Center Clerk
Posted 4 years ago

What do you like about working at Zales?

"I enjoyed working for zales because I was able to see the merchandise before it went to stores."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"It is a great place to work."

Import Export Administrator
Posted 4 years ago in Irving, TX

"I was just rmembering how I was not real balanced with life and work."

What do you like about working at Zales?

"I liked that I was the one that ran the Foreign Trade Zone and the ability to work on my own."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"I suggest that people understand the environment."

What don't you like about working at Zales?

"I did not like the working environment, it was stuck in the 1980's."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"I suggest that they update facilities and dress code."

Store Manager
Posted 4 years ago in Santa Ana, CA

"ok"

What do you like about working at Zales?

"At first the people"

What don't you like about working at Zales?

"they changed upper management"

What suggestions do you have for management?

"They need to hire better people who know the buisness"

We noticed that your web browser is outdated!

Update your browser to have a more positive job search experience.

Upgrade My Browser

×