Company Menu
1
4
3
1
1
3.3
Average Rating
(based on 10 WellCare Health Plans Review Ratings)
Company Culture 3.0
Growth Opportunities 2.5
People You Work With 3.7
Person You Work For 3.5
Rewards You Receive 3.3
Support You Get 2.9
Way You Work 4.0
Work Setting 3.2

17 WellCare Health Plans Company Reviews and Ratings

Anonymous Employee
Posted 9 months ago in Honolulu, HI

"The company is headquartered in Tampa, FL."

Person You Work For 3 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Work Setting 2 / 5
Support You Get 2 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 2 / 5
Company Culture 3 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 10 months ago in Tampa, FL

"Enjoyed my coworkers. Management needs improvement, with communications."

Person You Work For 3 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Work Setting 2 / 5
Support You Get 3 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 1 / 5
Company Culture 1 / 5 Way You Work 3 / 5

Company-Industry Rating Comparison

3.3
WellCare Health Plans (17)

4.5 Highest Rated in this Industry is Flying J (10)
2.4 Lowest Rated in this Industry is Quomation Insurance Services (6)
3.6 Average of All Companies in this Industry (6,177)
Senior Software Engineer
Posted this month in Tampa, FL

"Nice work environment. Excellent leaders and colleagues."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5
Company Culture 5 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Care Gap Coordinator
Posted this month in Tampa, FL

"WellCare in of itself is and excellent and ethical company. Well run and well managed, however speaking, the individuals responsible for running the department are a work in progress. I wouldn't say they are the worst management ever experienced but I WOULD say that as much as they push for improvement, they should be improving themselves too."

Person You Work For 4 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Work Setting 3 / 5
Support You Get 2 / 5 Rewards You Receive 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5
Company Culture 4 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5

Average WellCare Health Plans Ratings in the Past 2 Years

Year Salary
2012 $3
2013 $3
Financial Planning and Analysis Manager
Posted last year in Tampa, FL

"The company has 4,000 employees and continues to strengthen it's membership through acquisitions and delivering quality health plans. It has a keen focus on developing care management systems for it's members and internally has developed a core compliance structure that promotes open communication."

Person You Work For 3.3 / 5 People You Work With 3.3 / 5 Work Setting 3.3 / 5
Support You Get 3.3 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3.3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3.3 / 5
Company Culture 3.3 / 5 Way You Work 3.3 / 5
Pharmacy Technician
Posted last year in Tampa, FL

"Great place to work at and build a career."

Person You Work For 4 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5
Support You Get 4 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 4 / 5
Company Culture 4 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5
Senior Technical Project Manager
Posted last year in Tampa, FL

"Love working with the people but terrible managers in IT"

What do you like about working at WellCare Health Plans?

"Great peer staff and working with the people day to day."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Find another company - it has the repretation of being a sweat shop - they live up to it."

What don't you like about working at WellCare Health Plans?

"Abuse of the workers especially Age-Discrimnation, Always promoting people who are more interested in abusing workers then leading. Very verbal and sometimes physical abusive place to work and don't dare got to HR because you will be the one gone."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Learn true Leadership skill and don't confuse Abusiveness with Leadership"

Person You Work For 1 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5
Support You Get 1 / 5 Rewards You Receive 1 / 5 Growth Opportunities 1 / 5
Company Culture 1 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5
Contract Control Coordinator
Posted 2 years ago in Tampa, FL

"This position truly taught me to multitask."

What do you like about working at WellCare Health Plans?

"I liked that things changed irregularly. It kept me on my toes and taught me to be adaptable."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Again, know the business/company for which you are interviewing and show them why you deserve that position."

What don't you like about working at WellCare Health Plans?

"Working for the company itself left very little to be desired however, working around others with little or no work ethic can be taxing. Especially if part of your job is directly related to someone else completing theirs."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"I actually have none. Employees were recognized and rewarded on a consistent basis. Also, helpful/relevant employee feedback was considered and implemented."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 3 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 2 / 5
Company Culture 5 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Marketing Outreach Specialist
Posted 2 years ago in Lafayette, LA

"I had a undefined job description. Not a good experience."

What do you like about working at WellCare Health Plans?

"The concept of the product. The concept of the of the company and who it benefits. The people I work with are great."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"To get a defined job descriptions. Defined pay schedule. I would also tell s person interviewing to find out why the previous person left."

What don't you like about working at WellCare Health Plans?

"Very unorganized job description. I am never sure what I should be doing."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"To have better training for the Marketing Outreach Specialists and the Managers. This way Managers and MOS's are all on the same page."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Work Setting 3 / 5
Support You Get 3 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5
Company Culture 3 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Senior Business Systems Analyst
Posted 2 years ago in Tampa, FL

"Worst place to be"

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"give management training for this manager so he can improve."

What don't you like about working at WellCare Health Plans?

"manager is a racist against immigrants he hired his American friend but he could not do a good job"

Person You Work For 2 / 5 People You Work With 1 / 5 Work Setting 1 / 5
Support You Get 1 / 5 Rewards You Receive 1 / 5 Growth Opportunities 1 / 5
Company Culture 1 / 5 Way You Work 3 / 5
Financial Analyst
Posted 4 years ago in Tampa, FL

"If you request challenging assignments, you get challenging assignments"

What do you like about working at WellCare Health Plans?

"They teach you as much as you want to learn. The Corporate Accounting department did not assign work based on Titles but on individual capabilities."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Make sure you are, at the very least, content with your responsibilites and pay grade because you will stay at that level for quite some time."

What don't you like about working at WellCare Health Plans?

"Once you attain a certain level in the company, that is where you stay."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Recognize the talented employees."

Senior Business Analyst
Posted 4 years ago

"Company still in transition"

What do you like about working at WellCare Health Plans?

"Beautiful campus, nice people"

Medical Coding Auditor
Posted this month in Tampa, FL

"I work for the Fraud, Waste and Abuse Unit and it is a great place"

What do you like about working at WellCare Health Plans?

"Flexible work schedule, family oriented"

What don't you like about working at WellCare Health Plans?

"nothing"

Benefits Consultant
Posted 5 years ago in West Palm Beach, FL

"I hope I get through to someone and then this review will be great."

What do you like about working at WellCare Health Plans?

"WellCare was perhaps the best job I have ever had.They always kept me informed and up to date in compliance and the product was the, in my opinion, best in the industry. Although there were many times I felt things done were not the most efficient or best way to go about it, I had my challenges and I enjoyed working there. I am independent now as I was before going to WellCare but if that company does come back, I would take them on as a carrier and be proud to sell their product. I feel they were handed a raw deal because they were in fact the best company in the industry. I left them because I couldn't sell a product that I felt was jeopardizing the stability of my client whom I always put first and I couldn't just take an income for which I couldn't work for. Such is not in my character."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Just tell it like it is. No harts and flowers!!!!!"

What don't you like about working at WellCare Health Plans?

"There was too much ethnic tiering. Meetings that wasted a lot of time traveling to and from which could have been avoided by use of the computer. The advertisement dept. was very inefficient and the seminars were not properly planned out causing too often a no show of prospects."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"I was a manager of consultants for the Metropolitan Life Insurance Company many years ago and I found that building up an agent always worked better than tearing them down. Educating and helping them to grow is of utmost importance. I built a staff of 7 agents of which 5 of them I made million dollar producers in the mid sixties and that was quite an accomplishment. You don't do this by cutting them down nor do you accomplish anything by threatening their job. If they don't have the stuff to be successful, you set them free but if they have it, you nurture that and build them up. Pessimism never makes a good sales person."

Senior Software Engineer
Posted 5 years ago in Tampa, FL

"Heads down programming."

What do you like about working at WellCare Health Plans?

"People were good. Got to use great PL/SQL techniques for bulk processing."

What don't you like about working at WellCare Health Plans?

"Got downsized."

We noticed that your web browser is outdated!

Update your browser to have a more positive job search experience.

Upgrade My Browser

×