Wal-Mart
3.4 (591)
Industry: Health and Personal Care Stores - HQ: Bentonville, AR
http://www.walmart.com

Wal-Mart Department Manager Reviews

While the average rating for Wal-Mart is 3.4 out of 5.0, Department Managers at Wal-Mart give their company a 3.1, making them 9% less happy than every other employee at Wal-Mart and 18% less happy than every other Department Manager on CareerBliss - the happiest Department Managers work for United States Navy.

See all Wal-Mart reviews »
1
1
3
1
1
3.1
Average Rating
(based on 7 Department Manager Review Ratings)
Wal-Mart JobsView All »

18 Department Manager Wal-Mart Reviews and Ratings


Department Manager
Posted 4 months ago in Waynesboro, GA

"I've been working for Walmart since January 2006. I was just recently promoted late last year to a department manager of grocery, candy, cigarettes, seasonal, and beer/wine. I supervise five other associate to ensure that they are being held accountable for their duties as well as mine."

People You Work With 4 Person You Work For 5 Support You Get 3
Work Setting 4 Growth Opportunities 4 Way You Work 4
Company Culture 5 Rewards You Receive 5

Average Department Manager Ratings in the Past 5 Years

Year Salary
2012 $2
2013 $3
2014 $4
Department Manager
Posted 5 months ago in Las Vegas, NV

"Wal-Mart isn't the people friendly work place it once was, but it is still very successful in retail."

Person You Work For 5 Work Setting 4 Rewards You Receive 4
Growth Opportunities 5 Way You Work 4 Support You Get 5
Company Culture 4 People You Work With 5

Average Wal-Mart Attributes by Department Manager

Company Culture
3.4
Growth Opportunities
2.8
People You Work With
3.6
Person You Work For
3.6
Rewards You Receive
2.7
Support You Get
2.7
Way You Work
3
Work Setting
2.8
Department Manager
Posted 7 months ago in Fruitland, MD

"I don't care too much for the company when it comes to the work and time given to do the work that is asked of one to do, and with the low pay given, which is very low compared to the amount of work asked of the employees. Employees can move up the ladder of success with ease if he or she wants to and push forward."

Way You Work 2 Support You Get 3 Rewards You Receive 2
Company Culture 2 Person You Work For 5 Work Setting 2
People You Work With 4 Growth Opportunities 4

Common Words Used By Department Manager To Describe Working at Wal-Mart

"fast paced"
14 Reviewers
"helping customers"
15 Reviewers
"people customers"
10 Reviewers
Department Manager
Posted this month in Corpus Christi, TX

"Overworked, understaffed and underpaid... uppermanagement was"

What do you like about working at Wal-Mart?

"I liked that I quit after I was told I couldnt demote myself until another manager replaced me which could take months...in reality I was used until uppermanagement took their vacation"

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"make sure you get something in writing because you might be a manager in one department but you will end up working in every dept but yours and still be responsible for deadlines and planograms in yours"

What don't you like about working at Wal-Mart?

"Underpaid...company lied about bonuses and raises...uppermanagement was rude and did not respect their employees, CBLs and proper training were given to employees"

What suggestions do you have for management?

"employees should get paid according to education, not only experience. Christmas bonuses would be nice to show appreciation to employees. I had a masters degree and they started me at $9.35 per hour. An employee who sexually harassed women was moved up to assistant manager."

People You Work With 1 Support You Get 1 Company Culture 1
Rewards You Receive 1 Person You Work For 1 Work Setting 1
Growth Opportunities 1 Way You Work 1
Department Manager
Posted 2 years ago in Cumming, GA

What do you like about working at Wal-Mart?

"Not everyday is the sameConstantly learning new things Adapting to those changesCustomer RelationsFast PaceOnce given my notes for the day I am left alone to complete them"

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"It's a tough compnay to work for. Its fast pace and hard. You must be able to change with the times and learn to take direction."

What don't you like about working at Wal-Mart?

"Although we have our own freedoms within in the department, they are limited. Tour notes are given daily- mircromanged too much and the expections are too high for one department manager. There is not enough help within the stores to get done what needsto be done. No one is held accountable for their own mistakes and errors keep piling on. The morale is super low and there just isnt any work ethic. Employees are threatened to stay over and work and then told to loose that time before the work week is over."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"I would listen to those employees around me and try and fix any issues those might have. I would give the tools and resources needed to perform the job to its fullest"

Rewards You Receive 3 Work Setting 1 Support You Get 2
Company Culture 4 Person You Work For 3 Growth Opportunities 1
Way You Work 2 People You Work With 3
Department Manager
Posted 2 years ago in Louisville, KY
Support You Get 3.1 Rewards You Receive 3 Way You Work 3.2
Company Culture 3.1 Growth Opportunities 3.1
Department Manager
Posted 2 years ago in Charleston, SC
Growth Opportunities 1.7 Person You Work For 2.4 Rewards You Receive 1.2
Way You Work 4.7 People You Work With 4.6 Company Culture 4.4
Work Setting 4.5 Support You Get 2
Department Manager
Posted 4 years ago in Dallas, TX

"Worse job ever!"

What do you like about working at Wal-Mart?

"I liked the customer interaction."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Apply if you must! I could have been at the wrong store though."

What don't you like about working at Wal-Mart?

"The management was the worst. Yelled at the elderly and made fun of people."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Get new management"

Department Manager
Posted 4 years ago

What don't you like about working at Wal-Mart?

"compensation"

Department Manager
Posted 4 years ago in Durant, OK

"Common knowledge."

What do you like about working at Wal-Mart?

"the associates"

What don't you like about working at Wal-Mart?

"the lack of pay"

What suggestions do you have for management?

"pay associates as to how they work. Better workers - better pay"