Company Menu

United States Coast Guard Reviews

On average, employees at United States Coast Guard give their company a 4.0 rating out of 5.0 - which is 5% higher than the average rating for all companies on CareerBliss. The happiest United States Coast Guard employees are Information Systems Technicians submitting an average rating of 4.3 and Boatswain's Mates with a rating of 3.1. Browse United States Coast Guard Reviews by Job Title →

13
11
10
0
0
4.0
Average Rating
(based on 34 United States Coast Guard Review Ratings)
Company Culture 3.9
Growth Opportunities 3.9
People You Work With 4.3
Person You Work For 4.3
Rewards You Receive 3.9
Support You Get 3.8
Way You Work 4.0
Work Setting 3.9

50 United States Coast Guard Company Reviews and Ratings

5.0Posted 8 months ago in Galveston, TX
"I loved being part of the United States Coast Guard. The job was challenging and rewarding. I've have met a lot of great people and learned so many life skills. It was a great choice that I enlisted in the United States Coast Guard."
Information Systems Technician
Posted last month in Topeka, KS

"As an Active duty Member of the U.S. Coast Guard it was a high paced environment that I felt a part of the majority I was employed. However, for the family it was not a good environment to stay married or raise a family with a family that had special needs. If you are single and looking for a challenge then this is a great place to work."

People You Work With 5 / 5 Company Culture 4 / 5 Person You Work For 5 / 5
Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 Support You Get 3 / 5 Work Setting 3 / 5
Growth Opportunities 4 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5
Fireman
Posted 5 months ago in Chilmark, MA

"I have been activity duty Coast Guard for over 3 years."

Growth Opportunities 3 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5 Company Culture 3 / 5
Person You Work For 4 / 5 Work Setting 3 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5
Support You Get 3 / 5 Rewards You Receive 2 / 5

Company-Industry Rating Comparison

4.0
United States Coast Guard (50)

4.5 Highest Rated in this Industry is Round Table Pizza (10)
3.0 Lowest Rated in this Industry is Levy Restaurants (14)
3.7 Average of All Companies in this Industry (3,800)
Anonymous Employee
Posted 6 months ago

"The Coast Guard is similar to other militaries using the same sets of rules as well as the same pay scale. There is an end point to everyone's employment, however, and I'm retiring after 24 years of service. The skills I have gained in the medical administration realm have been invaluable. Furthermore, the masters degrees I've earned has prepared me well to exit the service."

Way You Work 5 / 5 Person You Work For 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5
Company Culture 4 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5
Support You Get 3 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5
Yeoman
Posted 7 months ago in Galveston, TX

"I loved being part of the United States Coast Guard. The job was challenging and rewarding. I've have met a lot of great people and learned so many life skills. It was a great choice that I enlisted in the United States Coast Guard."

Work Setting 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Rewards You Receive 5 / 5 Person You Work For 5 / 5 Support You Get 5 / 5
People You Work With 5 / 5 Company Culture 5 / 5

Average United States Coast Guard Ratings in the Past 3 Years

Year Salary
2011 $4
2012 $3
2013 $3
Anonymous Employee
Posted 8 months ago in Elizabeth City, NC

"I have worked for the Coast Guard for several years and great for GI Bill."

People You Work With 5 / 5 Company Culture 3 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5
Growth Opportunities 2 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5
Person You Work For 5 / 5 Support You Get 1 / 5
Boatswain's Mate
Posted 8 months ago in Port Clinton, OH

"Been in the USCG for almost 2 Years and enjoy providing a service to my country to make it safer and to protect our waterways and borders."

Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Support You Get 3 / 5 Company Culture 3 / 5
Person You Work For 4 / 5 People You Work With 3 / 5 Work Setting 3 / 5
Growth Opportunities 3 / 5 Way You Work 3 / 5
Equipment Services Project Manager
Posted 9 months ago in Astoria, OR

"I have worked as a Machinery Technician in the US Coast Guard for over 20 years and seen many wonderful places. I would not change a thing through my career. The US Coast Guard has taught me more then I would have if I worked anywhere else."

Company Culture 5 / 5 Person You Work For 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5
Rewards You Receive 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Way You Work 5 / 5 Support You Get 5 / 5
Fireman
Posted 10 months ago in Houston, TX

"Rewarding experience that will teach a person discipline and good work ethic."

Person You Work For 3 / 5 Work Setting 2 / 5 Growth Opportunities 4 / 5
Company Culture 3 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5
People You Work With 3 / 5 Support You Get 3 / 5
Marine Electrician
Posted this month in Baltimore, MD
Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Person You Work For 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5
Support You Get 3 / 5 Company Culture 3 / 5 Way You Work 3 / 5
People You Work With 3 / 5 Work Setting 3 / 5
Manager
Posted this month in Chesapeake, VA

What do you like about working at United States Coast Guard?

"I like being in a position of power and influence"

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Get ready for politics and rigid hierarchy that rewards your ability to suffer through long years before you get a promotion regardless of your performance"

What don't you like about working at United States Coast Guard?

"The overabundance of regulations and rules for every little facet of the job"

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Everything. Shift focus from ships to shore based systems and not waste time on inconsequential changes"

People You Work With 4 / 5 Support You Get 3 / 5 Company Culture 2 / 5
Way You Work 3 / 5 Rewards You Receive 5 / 5 Work Setting 1 / 5
Growth Opportunities 2 / 5 Person You Work For 2 / 5
Technical Advisor
Posted 2 years ago in Long Beach, CA

"Incredible sights, amazing people and stories!"

What do you like about working at United States Coast Guard?

"I loved the adventures, new experiences, people I/we met and the lives we helped save and/or make better! They are friends for life!"

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Boot Camp is easy: it's the long hours of life saving and possibly losing yours or a friends life, while saving others that is the hardest. Don't take things or people lightly."

What don't you like about working at United States Coast Guard?

"Hurry-up and wait! The organized stations and CO's were wonderful; the not-so-with-it stations were not so wonderful. Just standard ops."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Don't promote people to their highest level of inefficiency and give credit where credit is due, while rewarding those who deserve it, even if it's just a pat-on-the-back."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 Company Culture 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5
Way You Work 4 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Support You Get 5 / 5
Work Setting 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5
Information Systems Technician
Posted 2 years ago in Mobile, AL

What do you like about working at United States Coast Guard?

"There was always a new project to work on and the opportunity to be introduced to new technologies was always present"

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"It isn't easy to be an IT in the Coast Guard since you have to be on a waiting list for several months and the school is several months long; make sure it is something you really want to commit to."

What don't you like about working at United States Coast Guard?

"You are on call 24/7 in the United States Coast Guard"

Support You Get 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 5 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Company Culture 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
People You Work With 5 / 5 Person You Work For 5 / 5
Lieutenant
Posted 2 years ago in Alexandria, VA

What do you like about working at United States Coast Guard?

"The Coast Guard has a worthy mission and pays well."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Work hard to move up as fast as you can."

What don't you like about working at United States Coast Guard?

"Organizationally it feels stagnant, at least at the offices I have worked at in the DC area. Also, I am not a fan of the heavy emphasis on homeland security since being integrated into the Dept Of Homeland Security."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"I would cut back on mission scope and reduce the number of civilian employees.I'd also focus on using free open source software and other cheap but useful tools."

Rewards You Receive 5 / 5 Person You Work For 2 / 5 Growth Opportunities 4 / 5
People You Work With 3 / 5 Support You Get 3 / 5 Company Culture 2 / 5
Way You Work 2 / 5 Work Setting 2 / 5
Operations Specialist
Posted 2 years ago in Detroit, MI

What do you like about working at United States Coast Guard?

"Supportive coworkers, responsive chain of command, clear paths to advancement"

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"It's the military. Make sure you are comfortable taking orders, especially if you're coming in at the bottom. You are responsible for your progress. No one is going to hold your hand."

What don't you like about working at United States Coast Guard?

"Military is slow to adapt to change. That means it's not always easy to get new ideas out that improve work environments."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"There needs to be a better culture of support for new CG members."

Rewards You Receive 5 / 5 People You Work With 3 / 5 Company Culture 3 / 5
Way You Work 2 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5 Person You Work For 4 / 5
Work Setting 2 / 5 Support You Get 2 / 5
Seaman
Posted 2 years ago in Eureka, CA

"Got to travel and see a lot."

What do you like about working at United States Coast Guard?

"I enjoyed the adventure and that I got to travel and see a lot."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Pass the physical and get on the waiting list then make it through boot camp."

What don't you like about working at United States Coast Guard?

"It was a lot of hard work and long hours sometimes under adverse conditions."

People You Work With 4 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 4 / 5
Way You Work 4 / 5 Person You Work For 4 / 5 Support You Get 4 / 5
Company Culture 4 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5
We noticed that your web browser is outdated!

Update your browser to have a more positive job search experience.

Upgrade My Browser

×