Company Menu
6
12
3
2
1
3.7
Average Rating
(based on 24 UPMC Review Ratings)
Company Culture 3.8
Growth Opportunities 3.2
People You Work With 4.2
Person You Work For 4.1
Rewards You Receive 3.2
Support You Get 3.8
Way You Work 4.0
Work Setting 3.8
Posted 16 days ago in Pittsburgh, PA

"When I was hired at UPMC St. Margaret, I was fresh and did not know much about PC Support. Within two weeks, I was a functional part of the team. Working there really helped me grasp my understanding of computer hardware and how users interact with computers and software. My experience working at UPMC St. Margaret was a great learning experience that pushed me to this point in my career."

33 UPMC Company Reviews and Ratings

PC Consultant
Posted this month in Pittsburgh, PA

"When I was hired at UPMC St. Margaret, I was fresh and did not know much about PC Support. Within two weeks, I was a functional part of the team. Working there really helped me grasp my understanding of computer hardware and how users interact with computers and software. My experience working at UPMC St. Margaret was a great learning experience that pushed me to this point in my career."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5
Company Culture 4 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Staff RN
Posted this month in Pittsburgh, PA

"I have worked for UPMC for 4 years. They have given me an opportunity to grow in the right niche. You can transfer fairly easily. It is very fast paced. High volume and poor quality is common. Expect for resources to be low. There is a lot of transition. Pay is poor considering the national average. Cost cutting measures are important."

Person You Work For 3 / 5 People You Work With 3 / 5 Work Setting 1 / 5
Support You Get 3 / 5 Rewards You Receive 1 / 5 Growth Opportunities 2 / 5
Company Culture 2 / 5 Way You Work 2 / 5

Company-Industry Rating Comparison

3.7
UPMC (33)

4.8 Highest Rated in this Industry is Harlem Hospital Center (13)
2.2 Lowest Rated in this Industry is Nightingale Home Healthcare (10)
3.6 Average of All Companies in this Industry (7,624)
Anonymous Employee
Posted last month in Pittsburgh, PA

"Been working for UPMC for four years. The unit in which I work is very fast paced and quite demanding. The nurses on the unit are an excellent source of teamwork and collaboration."

Person You Work For 4 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 3 / 5
Support You Get 4 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5
Company Culture 4 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Systems Analyst
Posted 4 months ago in Pittsburgh, PA

"I have worked as a systems analysts for UPMC for almost 2 years, mainly focusing on device integration on the Cerner EMR side of healthcare. I am 25 years old, graduated from the University of Akron with a degree in Biomedical Engineering and a minor in applied mathematics. My manager has recently filed for a promotion but due to company reorganization in the ISD department, my promotion is being placed on hold for non-work related purposes."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5
Support You Get 3 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5
Company Culture 4 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5

Average UPMC Ratings in the Past 3 Years

Year Salary
2011 $3
2012 $3
2013 $3
Software Engineering Intern
Posted 10 months ago in Pittsburgh, PA

"I worked for UPMC technology development center as an Intern. Throughout the course of my Internship I learned from many of their best Engineers while working in a comfortable environment."

Person You Work For 4 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5
Company Culture 5 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted last year in Pittsburgh, PA

"Been at the company for three years, weak management team."

Person You Work For 2.7 / 5 People You Work With 2.7 / 5 Work Setting 2.7 / 5
Support You Get 2.7 / 5 Rewards You Receive 2.7 / 5 Growth Opportunities 2.7 / 5
Company Culture 2.7 / 5 Way You Work 2.7 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted last year in Pittsburgh, PA

"Great team! Flexible work hours, Agile management style."

Person You Work For 3.7 / 5 People You Work With 3.7 / 5 Work Setting 3.7 / 5
Support You Get 3.7 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3.7 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3.7 / 5
Company Culture 3.7 / 5 Way You Work 3.7 / 5
IT Security Analyst
Posted last year in Pittsburgh, PA

"Negative"

What do you like about working at UPMC?

"I honestly do not have much input to provide here. I have nt been able to find anything I really enjoy."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Try to find out as much about your manager as possible. The manager makes the difference in how your experience will be."

What don't you like about working at UPMC?

"I have not worked here very long, but I have noticed that innovative thinking is restricted. Direction is very autocratic innature, and your ability to challenge decisions or provide input in decisions is limited."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Listen to your employees and empower them. There are a lot of good people there that want to do well."

Person You Work For 1 / 5 People You Work With 2 / 5 Work Setting 2 / 5
Support You Get 1 / 5 Rewards You Receive 1 / 5 Growth Opportunities 1 / 5
Company Culture 1 / 5 Way You Work 1 / 5
Research Associate
Posted last year in Pittsburgh, PA

"The more you learn, the better you will be."

What do you like about working at UPMC?

"The people I worked with. The friendly and fun atmosphere."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Always be prepared and be willing to deal with multi-task at same time."

What don't you like about working at UPMC?

"I really like the company I worked. Everything comforts with me."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"As a entry-level employee at the company, I have lots of thing to learn."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Support You Get 4 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5
Company Culture 5 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Data Warehouse Architect
Posted 2 years ago in Pittsburgh, PA

"Very good company to work with, great team"

What do you like about working at UPMC?

"The great team and a very friendly environment and the technolies we used"

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"I think I don't have much to say as everything is fine"

What don't you like about working at UPMC?

"I have nothing to complain about the company but appreciate"

What suggestions do you have for management?

"I think we have a very good management team in place"

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5
Company Culture 5 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Clinical Coordinator
Posted 2 years ago in Glenshaw, PA

What do you like about working at UPMC?

"Support is always there when I need it, especially from my boss."

What don't you like about working at UPMC?

"I work for a very large company, and it's very big in Pittsburgh."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"I would suggest using larger server for electronic documentation and EMAR."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5
Company Culture 3 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Systems Analyst
Posted 2 years ago in Pittsburgh, PA

"Good place to work but career advancement is lacking."

What do you like about working at UPMC?

"I like the flexible hours and the location is great."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Be yourself and show them you want it and you probably will."

What don't you like about working at UPMC?

"I don't like the lack of career advancement I have there."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Upper management needs to reevaluate their need for business people vs. technical people."

Person You Work For 4 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 2 / 5
Company Culture 4 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5
Instructional Trainer
Posted 2 years ago in Pittsburgh, PA

What do you like about working at UPMC?

"I enjoy curriculum design and development. I also enjoy the opportuntities I have to collaborate with other departments and work on new products/innovations directly."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"For persons interested in this company, I'd suggest that they are aware of the insurance and healthcare industries. This will be a valuable tool when working for the Health Plan, no matter what career level you're entering on."

What don't you like about working at UPMC?

"While every organization has a budget and certain restrictions, I wish there were more options for design and presentation platforms (LMS) for the indivuduals we consider learners. I am limited in the types of software and programs I can use to share the course content and design curriculum."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"A suggestion I would share is to consider opportunities for remote working conditions for this level of employee. Granted, every organization has slow days, however, on days in which not trainings occur and no meetings are scheduled, curriculum (web based) can be designed from home (VPN access)."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 2 / 5
Support You Get 2 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 2 / 5
Company Culture 4 / 5 Way You Work 3 / 5
Software Engineer
Posted 2 years ago in Pittsburgh, PA

"My first job in US. Nice job and peole to works with."

What do you like about working at UPMC?

"Mixed new and legacy technologies, and greate challenge. I do learn a lot from my work."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Be Prepared to work under time pressure and learn different technologies as soon as possible."

What don't you like about working at UPMC?

"Poor documentation. Spent too much time to read codes and delay the support response."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Long term strategy is more important than short term solution."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Support You Get 4 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 4 / 5
Company Culture 5 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5
Systems Administrator
Posted 2 years ago in Pittsburgh, PA

"The knowledge, experience and relationships I have built are invaluable to me."

What do you like about working at UPMC?

"I have a lot of freedom to actualize my vision for the future of how our department conducts business from an IT perspective."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"The sky is the limit with how successful you can be at your position. It is quite literally your job to lose. Be a team player, as your colleagues can be your most valuable assets."

What don't you like about working at UPMC?

"There is no opportunity for me to advance in my career staying where I am."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Management should be less biased with how they see their staff and address issues in a more open-minded and objective fashion."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 2 / 5
Company Culture 4 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5
We noticed that your web browser is outdated!

Update your browser to have a more positive job search experience.

Upgrade My Browser

×