Company Menu

UPMC Reviews

6
10
3
1
1
3.8
Average Rating
(based on 21 UPMC Review Ratings)
Company Culture 3.8
Growth Opportunities 3.3
People You Work With 4.2
Person You Work For 4.1
Rewards You Receive 3.3
Support You Get 3.7
Way You Work 4.0
Work Setting 4.0

UPMC Jobs

View All »

30 UPMC Company Reviews and Ratings


Systems Analyst
Posted 2 months ago in Pittsburgh, PA

"I have worked as a systems analysts for UPMC for almost 2 years, mainly focusing on device integration on the Cerner EMR side of healthcare. I am 25 years old, graduated from the University of Akron with a degree in Biomedical Engineering and a minor in applied mathematics. My manager has recently filed for a promotion but due to company reorganization in the ISD department, my promotion is being placed on hold for non-work related purposes."

Way You Work 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5
Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Person You Work For 5 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5
Company Culture 4 / 5 Support You Get 3 / 5
Software Engineering Intern
Posted 8 months ago in Pittsburgh, PA

"I worked for UPMC technology development center as an Intern. Throughout the course of my Internship I learned from many of their best Engineers while working in a comfortable environment."

Person You Work For 4 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Company Culture 5 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5
Growth Opportunities 5 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5

Company-Industry Rating Comparison

3.8
UPMC (30)

4.8 Highest Rated in this Industry is Harlem Hospital Center (13)
2.2 Lowest Rated in this Industry is Nightingale Home Healthcare (10)
3.6 Average of All Companies in this Industry (7,494)
Anonymous Employee
Posted 11 months ago in Pittsburgh, PA

"Been at the company for three years, weak management team."

Work Setting 2.7 / 5 Way You Work 2.7 / 5 Person You Work For 2.7 / 5
People You Work With 2.7 / 5 Support You Get 2.7 / 5 Rewards You Receive 2.7 / 5
Company Culture 2.7 / 5 Growth Opportunities 2.7 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 11 months ago in Pittsburgh, PA

"Great team! Flexible work hours, Agile management style."

Growth Opportunities 3.7 / 5 Person You Work For 3.7 / 5 Support You Get 3.7 / 5
Rewards You Receive 3.7 / 5 Company Culture 3.7 / 5 People You Work With 3.7 / 5
Work Setting 3.7 / 5 Way You Work 3.7 / 5

Average UPMC Ratings in the Past 3 Years

Year Salary
2011 $3
2012 $3
2013 $3
IT Security Analyst
Posted last year in Pittsburgh, PA

"Negative"

What do you like about working at UPMC?

"I honestly do not have much input to provide here. I have nt been able to find anything I really enjoy."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Try to find out as much about your manager as possible. The manager makes the difference in how your experience will be."

What don't you like about working at UPMC?

"I have not worked here very long, but I have noticed that innovative thinking is restricted. Direction is very autocratic innature, and your ability to challenge decisions or provide input in decisions is limited."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Listen to your employees and empower them. There are a lot of good people there that want to do well."

Support You Get 1 / 5 Company Culture 1 / 5 Rewards You Receive 1 / 5
Person You Work For 1 / 5 Work Setting 2 / 5 Way You Work 1 / 5
People You Work With 2 / 5 Growth Opportunities 1 / 5
Research Associate
Posted last year in Pittsburgh, PA

"The more you learn, the better you will be."

What do you like about working at UPMC?

"The people I worked with. The friendly and fun atmosphere."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Always be prepared and be willing to deal with multi-task at same time."

What don't you like about working at UPMC?

"I really like the company I worked. Everything comforts with me."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"As a entry-level employee at the company, I have lots of thing to learn."

Work Setting 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5
Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Company Culture 5 / 5
Support You Get 4 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Data Warehouse Architect
Posted this month in Pittsburgh, PA

"Very good company to work with, great team"

What do you like about working at UPMC?

"The great team and a very friendly environment and the technolies we used"

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"I think I don't have much to say as everything is fine"

What don't you like about working at UPMC?

"I have nothing to complain about the company but appreciate"

What suggestions do you have for management?

"I think we have a very good management team in place"

Support You Get 5 / 5 Company Culture 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 5 / 5
Way You Work 5 / 5 Person You Work For 5 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Growth Opportunities 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5
Clinical Coordinator
Posted 2 years ago in Glenshaw, PA

What do you like about working at UPMC?

"Support is always there when I need it, especially from my boss."

What don't you like about working at UPMC?

"I work for a very large company, and it's very big in Pittsburgh."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"I would suggest using larger server for electronic documentation and EMAR."

Growth Opportunities 5 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5
People You Work With 4 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5 Person You Work For 5 / 5
Company Culture 3 / 5 Support You Get 5 / 5
Systems Analyst
Posted 2 years ago in Pittsburgh, PA

"Good place to work but career advancement is lacking."

What do you like about working at UPMC?

"I like the flexible hours and the location is great."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Be yourself and show them you want it and you probably will."

What don't you like about working at UPMC?

"I don't like the lack of career advancement I have there."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Upper management needs to reevaluate their need for business people vs. technical people."

Way You Work 4 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Person You Work For 4 / 5
Work Setting 5 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Support You Get 5 / 5
Growth Opportunities 2 / 5 Company Culture 4 / 5
Instructional Trainer
Posted 2 years ago in Pittsburgh, PA

What do you like about working at UPMC?

"I enjoy curriculum design and development. I also enjoy the opportuntities I have to collaborate with other departments and work on new products/innovations directly."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"For persons interested in this company, I'd suggest that they are aware of the insurance and healthcare industries. This will be a valuable tool when working for the Health Plan, no matter what career level you're entering on."

What don't you like about working at UPMC?

"While every organization has a budget and certain restrictions, I wish there were more options for design and presentation platforms (LMS) for the indivuduals we consider learners. I am limited in the types of software and programs I can use to share the course content and design curriculum."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"A suggestion I would share is to consider opportunities for remote working conditions for this level of employee. Granted, every organization has slow days, however, on days in which not trainings occur and no meetings are scheduled, curriculum (web based) can be designed from home (VPN access)."

People You Work With 5 / 5 Support You Get 2 / 5 Company Culture 4 / 5
Growth Opportunities 2 / 5 Way You Work 3 / 5 Work Setting 2 / 5
Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Person You Work For 5 / 5
Software Engineer
Posted 2 years ago in Pittsburgh, PA

"My first job in US. Nice job and peole to works with."

What do you like about working at UPMC?

"Mixed new and legacy technologies, and greate challenge. I do learn a lot from my work."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Be Prepared to work under time pressure and learn different technologies as soon as possible."

What don't you like about working at UPMC?

"Poor documentation. Spent too much time to read codes and delay the support response."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Long term strategy is more important than short term solution."

Growth Opportunities 4 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5 Person You Work For 5 / 5
Work Setting 5 / 5 Support You Get 4 / 5 Company Culture 5 / 5
People You Work With 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5
Systems Administrator
Posted 2 years ago in Pittsburgh, PA

"The knowledge, experience and relationships I have built are invaluable to me."

What do you like about working at UPMC?

"I have a lot of freedom to actualize my vision for the future of how our department conducts business from an IT perspective."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"The sky is the limit with how successful you can be at your position. It is quite literally your job to lose. Be a team player, as your colleagues can be your most valuable assets."

What don't you like about working at UPMC?

"There is no opportunity for me to advance in my career staying where I am."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Management should be less biased with how they see their staff and address issues in a more open-minded and objective fashion."

Work Setting 4 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Company Culture 4 / 5
People You Work With 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 2 / 5 Support You Get 5 / 5
Person You Work For 5 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5
CFO
Posted 2 years ago
People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5 Support You Get 5 / 5
Company Culture 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Person You Work For 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 5 / 5
Clinician
Posted 2 years ago in Pittsburgh, PA
Way You Work 3.9 / 5 People You Work With 4.6 / 5 Company Culture 3.9 / 5
Person You Work For 3.3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 4 / 5 Support You Get 3.1 / 5
Rewards You Receive 3.1 / 5 Work Setting 3.9 / 5
Research Nurse Coordinator
Posted 2 years ago in Pittsburgh, PA
Person You Work For 4 / 5 Support You Get 3.9 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5
Company Culture 3.1 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3.1 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5
Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Work Setting 3 / 5
We noticed that your web browser is outdated!

Update your browser to have a more positive job search experience.

Upgrade My Browser

×