Company Menu
1
6
2
2
1
3.3
Average Rating
(based on 12 ULTA Beauty Review Ratings)
Company Culture 3.3
Growth Opportunities 2.8
People You Work With 3.8
Person You Work For 3.7
Rewards You Receive 2.9
Support You Get 3.4
Way You Work 3.3
Work Setting 3.4

17 ULTA Beauty Company Reviews and Ratings


Anonymous Employee
Posted 6 months ago in Rancho Mirage, CA

"I worked as a hair stylist to get through college and help support my family of five. ULTA can easily be compared to a sweat shop, but I'm fortunate for the time that I had there and the opportunities that I was provided with. Though the discount was meager, it was a plus to have the best beauty products at my disposal. They terminated my employment while I was in the hospital having a cesarean, citing that my disability was not approved. Greedy, nasty people."

People You Work With 4 / 5 Company Culture 2 / 5 Work Setting 2 / 5
Growth Opportunities 3 / 5 Way You Work 3 / 5 Person You Work For 5 / 5
Support You Get 3 / 5 Rewards You Receive 2 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 6 months ago in Lubbock, TX

"Basically there's an issue with management, if you kiss the manager's butt she puts you on the favorite list and she'll make you a manager. It does not matter if you qualify, if you've been doing hair 7 years. If you're her friend and just got out of school, she'll make you a salon manager. I decided to leave after their poor choices and after working my butt off for them. I took 3 stylists and a brow girl with me. There is no growth, don't do it."

Rewards You Receive 2 / 5 Growth Opportunities 1 / 5 People You Work With 3 / 5
Company Culture 3 / 5 Work Setting 3 / 5 Support You Get 2 / 5
Person You Work For 2 / 5 Way You Work 3 / 5

Company-Industry Rating Comparison

3.3
ULTA Beauty (17)

4.5 Highest Rated in this Industry is The Training Associates (13)
2.7 Lowest Rated in this Industry is Invacare Continuing Care (7)
3.6 Average of All Companies in this Industry (2,379)
Cashier
Posted 9 months ago in Holly Springs, NC

"I've been working at this Ulta for a few months now and I absolutely love it, our team is full of wonderful and talented ladies who avoid any drama and work hard and they love what they do. I work hard and my managers see that and appreciate my hard work. Everyone is always positive and encourages one another. Even if you start out as just a cashier you have plenty of room to grow within the business. I always enjoy going into work. Love it. :) Best job ever."

Support You Get 4 / 5 Person You Work For 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5
People You Work With 5 / 5 Company Culture 5 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5
Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 11 months ago in Alpharetta, GA

"Worst job I've EVER had and I worked at McDonalds, if that says anything. I had no idea what my actual job was. I was being thrown on truck and register in the same day, but I was the only girl doing this. The two departments wouldn't even communicate so the truck people would have no idea why I left them right in the middle of doing something and was randomly on register. I also had no idea when I was to expect a paycheck or a new schedule, even after asking multiple times. So disappointing."

Growth Opportunities 1 / 5 People You Work With 1 / 5 Support You Get 2 / 5
Rewards You Receive 1 / 5 Way You Work 1 / 5 Person You Work For 1 / 5
Work Setting 1 / 5 Company Culture 1 / 5

Average ULTA Beauty Ratings in the Past 3 Years

Year Salary
2011 $4
2012 $3
2013 $1
Associate Manager
Posted last year

"Demoralizing"

What do you like about working at ULTA Beauty?

"The discount and the end of my shift. Some of the store associates."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Just don't do it. There are better careers. They make this job sound so great during the interview process but do not fall for it. Smoke and mirrors. Run for the hills! There are no suggestions just be the right person on the right day."

What don't you like about working at ULTA Beauty?

"Doesn't value their employees.The district Manager is a complete tyrant."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Value your employees. If you preach customer service give us the tools to make it happen. Give us hours to service the guest. Keep our store stocked. Hire management more carefully, don't just go with the lowest bidder. Trust the people who've been with you and they will trust you."

Rewards You Receive 1 / 5 Growth Opportunities 1 / 5 Way You Work 1 / 5
Support You Get 1 / 5 Work Setting 3 / 5 People You Work With 3 / 5
Person You Work For 1 / 5 Company Culture 1 / 5
Order Picker
Posted last year in Phoenix, AZ

"Good envirionment, fast paced"

What do you like about working at ULTA Beauty?

"Good work place, fast paced good communication with employees friendly people"

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Work hard do not miss any days of work and maybe you can get hired on"

What don't you like about working at ULTA Beauty?

"That I did not get hired on as a full time employee job was a seasonal job"

What suggestions do you have for management?

"The only management I came in contact with was my supervisor. He was very helpful"

People You Work With 4 / 5 Support You Get 4 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5
Person You Work For 4 / 5 Work Setting 3 / 5 Company Culture 4 / 5
Growth Opportunities 2 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Operations Manager
Posted 2 years ago in Queen Creek, AZ

What do you like about working at ULTA Beauty?

"making guests feel beautiful! its not high stress, best job I've ever had"

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"be giddy cheerful and love beauty and people dress all in black business ware"

What don't you like about working at ULTA Beauty?

"micro managed to the max... watched constantly from lp lap tops etc"

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Be more forward and not so passive and sugar coated"

People You Work With 5 / 5 Support You Get 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5
Company Culture 5 / 5 Way You Work 2 / 5 Person You Work For 5 / 5
Work Setting 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5
Materials Handler
Posted 2 years ago in Phoenix, AZ

"It was a good job until I got my degree now I want something better"

What do you like about working at ULTA Beauty?

"I like the shift I work on Overnite. I also enjoy the culture"

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"have warehouse experience and they will hire you they have a high turnover rate"

What don't you like about working at ULTA Beauty?

"I dont like some of the supervisors and the way they go about getting things done"

What suggestions do you have for management?

"I wold tell them to come out and do some of the work then they wouldnt make some of the calls they do"

People You Work With 4 / 5 Support You Get 2 / 5 Company Culture 3 / 5
Person You Work For 2 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5
Work Setting 4 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Assistant Project Manager
Posted 2 years ago in Bolingbrook, IL

What do you like about working at ULTA Beauty?

"Kind -of work they do, salary, security and Job promotion"

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Is a good, diverse environment with a weak leadership which is changing."

What don't you like about working at ULTA Beauty?

"Teams should have been more understandable and dependent when delivering a project"

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Assign responsibilities to the teams and make them accountable for."

Growth Opportunities 4 / 5 Company Culture 3 / 5 People You Work With 3 / 5
Support You Get 4 / 5 Person You Work For 5 / 5 Work Setting 3 / 5
Way You Work 4 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5
Project Manager
Posted 3 years ago in Chicago, IL
Person You Work For 4.9 / 5 Work Setting 2.9 / 5 Way You Work 3.7 / 5
Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Company Culture 4.8 / 5 People You Work With 4.8 / 5
Growth Opportunities 3.3 / 5 Support You Get 4.3 / 5
Lead Administrative Assistant
Posted 3 years ago
Way You Work 3.4 / 5 Company Culture 3.5 / 5 Person You Work For 5 / 5
Growth Opportunities 2 / 5 Work Setting 4.6 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3.5 / 5
People You Work With 4.6 / 5 Support You Get 4.2 / 5
Sales Associate
Posted 3 years ago

What do you like about working at ULTA Beauty?

"Can use the testers, get free samples, product was fun. Discount was amazing but you can easily get into trouble that way."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Wear make up, get a manicure, look fashionable. Be a girly girl even if you aren't."

What don't you like about working at ULTA Beauty?

"I only got 5 hours a week if I was lucky, had to wear makeup/no sneakers/all black even when doing the truck at 5 in the morning and leaving before the store opens. Lip gloss/lip stick must be applied as needed was in the handbook. Can't wear faded black. Strict uniform policy."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Less employees so they can get more hours"

Work Setting 4.8 / 5 Way You Work 4.9 / 5 Company Culture 4.8 / 5
People You Work With 4.7 / 5 Support You Get 4.9 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3.9 / 5
Person You Work For 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 2.7 / 5
General Manager
Posted 4 years ago in Chino, CA

"Good company"

What do you like about working at ULTA Beauty?

"I like the relationship/partnership with my District Manager, the Vendor realationships and the partnership with the Prestige Managers in the District as well as the repoire with my peers (other GM's and Salon Managers)."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"I want them to ensure that they go into a company and have clear expectations and expect that management will assist them in growing to go to whatever the next level that they seek."

What don't you like about working at ULTA Beauty?

"I don't like that the opportunities for advancement on a corporate level are based only in Chicago."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"To continue to focus on building themselves in their developmental areas so that they can become strong in all areas, from sales, merchandising to operations."

Operations Manager
Posted 5 years ago in Buford, GA

"A good company to work for long term, but recnt changes in the company policies cause confusion."

What do you like about working at ULTA Beauty?

"Being on top of cosmetic and salon trends, hands on customer service, good benefits."

What don't you like about working at ULTA Beauty?

"Changes in company policy over the years have been inconsistent and contradictory making good management difficult."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Try to maintain consistency regarding policy changes and adherence from store to store."

Salon Market Trainer
Posted 5 years ago in Dallas, TX

"Adequate at Best"

What do you like about working at ULTA Beauty?

"Building relationships, second to none, PTA, Redken certification, leadership empowerment, growth potential"

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Stay focus, follow the rules, don't become side track, speak up professionally. Work is never personal, just business!!! REACH FOR THE STARS, YOU WILL GET THERE"

What don't you like about working at ULTA Beauty?

"compensation (salary) A lot of work and hardly any pay, although the reward is in the development of your teams"

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Believe in your people, give them the chance to be who they are in order to produce the result desired then your people will not feel over whelmed. Better COMMUNICATION and direction between upper management"

We noticed that your web browser is outdated!

Update your browser to have a more positive job search experience.

Upgrade My Browser

×