Subway
3.7 (82)
Industry: Dining and Food Services - HQ: Milford, CT
http://www.subway.com

Subway Reviews

On average, employees at Subway give their company a 3.7 rating out of 5.0 - which is 3% lower than the average rating for all companies on CareerBliss. The happiest Subway employees are Cashiers submitting an average rating of 4.9 and Managers with a rating of 4.3.

See all Subway reviews »
14
18
19
5
0
3.7
Average Rating
(based on 56 Subway Review Ratings)
Company Culture 3.5
Growth Opportunities 2.7
People You Work With 4.2
Person You Work For 4.1
Rewards You Receive 3.3
Support You Get 3.9
Way You Work 4.2
Work Setting 3.7
Subway JobsView All »

82 Subway Company Reviews and Ratings

3.8Posted 4 months ago in Neillsville, WI
"I worked at Subway for 6 years. The people I worked with, the people I helped and the experience I gained were invaluable and helped mold me into the person I am today."
Manager
Posted this month in Ukiah, CA

"Subway has over 50,000 Restaurants worldwide with a great system in place especially when it comes to marketing their product. They invest in their franchisees to be successful in order to be a successful company overall. I had a great experience talking to employees and customers on regular liason acting as a liason between Subway and Customers."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 Company Culture 5 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5
Work Setting 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5 Support You Get 5 / 5
Rewards You Receive 5 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5

Company-Industry Rating Comparison

3.7
Subway (82)

4.5 Highest Rated in this Industry is Round Table Pizza (10)
3.0 Lowest Rated in this Industry is Levy Restaurants (13)
3.6 Average of All Companies in this Industry (3,708)
Anonymous Employee
Posted this month in Milford, CT

"When working at Subway headquarters it had its pros and cons and I recommend to deeply reconsider working here if there are other options."

Growth Opportunities 2 / 5 Person You Work For 4 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5
Work Setting 2 / 5 Support You Get 3 / 5 Company Culture 1 / 5
Way You Work 4 / 5 Rewards You Receive 2 / 5

Average Subway Ratings in the Past 5 Years

Year Salary
2011 $3
2012 $3
2013 $3
Anonymous Employee
Posted 2 months ago in Hoffman Estates, IL

"It's not the supervisor or the owner that's to be reviewed. It's actually the brand itself, Subway corporate are filled with people that don't really care about their franchisees, bleed money out of franchisees pockets and don't address franchisee concerns. Owning a franchise is stressful due to landlord issues, maintenance costs, rising food and labor costs, and utilities cost. It's hard to make money and there's no way out if you want to shut the franchise down, corporate won't let you."

Support You Get 1 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5 Company Culture 5 / 5
Rewards You Receive 5 / 5 People You Work With 3 / 5 Person You Work For 4 / 5
Work Setting 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 1 / 5

Common Words Used To Describe Working at Subway

"great experience"
3 Reviewers
Sandwich Artist
Posted 2 months ago in Santa Ana, CA

"I have worked for Subway for more than two years, I believe it is a good place to start out and gain experience."

People You Work With 5 / 5 Company Culture 4 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5
Person You Work For 5 / 5 Work Setting 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 4 / 5
Way You Work 4 / 5 Support You Get 4 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 3 months ago in Lathrop, CA

"I enjoyed working here. The customers were usually friendly, but there will be the one customer who would ruin your day. They did not come that often though. I enjoyed working with people and the staff is always helpful."

Support You Get 4 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5 Company Culture 3 / 5
Way You Work 4 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 Person You Work For 5 / 5
Growth Opportunities 4 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5
Shift Leader
Posted 4 months ago in Neillsville, WI

"I worked at Subway for 6 years. The people I worked with, the people I helped and the experience I gained were invaluable and helped mold me into the person I am today."

Work Setting 3 / 5 Support You Get 4 / 5 Company Culture 4 / 5
Growth Opportunities 2 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5
Way You Work 3 / 5 Person You Work For 5 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 4 months ago in Arlington, VA

"Terrible hours especially for a high school student. On a school night, I am expected to stay until the entire restaurant is clean and I have to do this all by myself. Most nights I do not leave until after 11 pm and only have off one or two days per week. When I first started, I loved the job, however, now that I have become more experienced I am scheduled to work all the time and the one or two days I have off, I am usually called in to work for someone else."

Work Setting 3 / 5 Rewards You Receive 2 / 5 People You Work With 3 / 5
Person You Work For 2 / 5 Support You Get 3 / 5 Company Culture 2 / 5
Way You Work 2 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5
Sandwich Artist
Posted 5 months ago in Upland, CA

"I have experience working at Subway as a Sandwich Artist and I had a great experience working there because the company made sure deliveries were made on time to ensure having enough food for us workers to serve the customers. The work environment was very clean and regulated. We followed regulations that helped make the work environment very friendly and organized. The workers were great and we never had any problems working along each other's side as a team."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 Support You Get 5 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
People You Work With 5 / 5 Company Culture 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 5 / 5
Work Setting 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 6 months ago in Sacramento, CA

"This working environment is good for a student, not for someone who wants to advance their career."

Rewards You Receive 5 / 5 Person You Work For 5 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Growth Opportunities 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Company Culture 5 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 7 months ago in San Diego, CA

"Great place to work, but low amount of ability to move up in the industry."

Work Setting 5 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5 Person You Work For 5 / 5
Growth Opportunities 2 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Support You Get 5 / 5
Company Culture 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 5 / 5
Shift Supervisor
Posted 8 months ago in Davie, FL

"To be completely honest, the store that I work at has switched management three times in the two years I have worked there. Each time the management treats employees as if we do not have common sense and belittles us at all times. I love my coworkers and my store manager but the work is extremely redundant and there is no chance for growth. It is virtually impossible to make even close to a livable wage."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 Work Setting 3 / 5 Rewards You Receive 2 / 5
Support You Get 3 / 5 Company Culture 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 1 / 5
Way You Work 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5
Sandwich Artist
Posted 9 months ago in Chula Vista, CA

"Fast paced job, great first job. Awesome co-workers, picky customers. Overall great experience."

People You Work With 2.7 / 5 Company Culture 2.7 / 5 Way You Work 2.7 / 5
Work Setting 2.7 / 5 Support You Get 2.7 / 5 Person You Work For 2.7 / 5
Growth Opportunities 2.7 / 5 Rewards You Receive 2.7 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 9 months ago in Bridgeport, WV

"I worked for Subway during the summers of 2010 up until the summer of 2012. I would show great worth ethic and was rewarded with a raise due to that. Other than little things with the management itself it was not a bad summer job. I would definitely not want to be there for a career though."

Work Setting 3.3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3.3 / 5 Person You Work For 3.3 / 5
People You Work With 3.3 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3.3 / 5 Way You Work 3.3 / 5
Company Culture 3.3 / 5 Support You Get 3.3 / 5
Manager
Posted last year in Seekonk, MA

What do you like about working at Subway?

"I know the job well and I am in charge and close to home"

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Same as any job. Present yourself the best you can."

What don't you like about working at Subway?

"There is no advancement available which is why I am trying to enter my new career."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"The owner Keep doing what corporate wants him to do."

Growth Opportunities 1 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5
Person You Work For 5 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5 Support You Get 5 / 5
Company Culture 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 5 / 5
Sandwich Artist
Posted last year in Savage, MD

What do you like about working at Subway?

"I like working there because I can serve people their food."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"this is a very busy store, so just be prepared to work hard."

What don't you like about working at Subway?

"that our store is the busiest store ever."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"I would tell the management to hire more people that fit the job."

Person You Work For 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 4 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5
Support You Get 4 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5
People You Work With 3 / 5 Company Culture 3 / 5