Company Menu
2
4
3
0
0
3.7
Average Rating
(based on 9 Smithfield Foods Review Ratings)
Company Culture 3.6
Growth Opportunities 3.2
People You Work With 4.2
Person You Work For 3.7
Rewards You Receive 3.1
Support You Get 3.8
Way You Work 4.3
Work Setting 3.6

15 Smithfield Foods Company Reviews and Ratings


Anonymous Employee
Posted this month in Kansas City, MO

"Great coworkers, very experienced and knowledgeable. Great team environment with managers wanting people to succeed and grow."

Support You Get 4 / 5 Company Culture 3 / 5 Person You Work For 4 / 5
Growth Opportunities 3 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5
Work Setting 2 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted this month in Tar Heel, NC

"This facility is only for the strong willed and goal driven. It is all about performance. I started with this company in 2011 and did a little over a year. If I wasn't so homesick as I was, I would had stayed with this company. The VP took care of his managers and I felt that he was tough on me but I learned so much from him."

Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5
Company Culture 3 / 5 Work Setting 3 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5
Person You Work For 4 / 5 Support You Get 4 / 5

Company-Industry Rating Comparison

3.7
Smithfield Foods (15)

4.7 Highest Rated in this Industry is Farmland Foods (8)
3.0 Lowest Rated in this Industry is Medifast (8)
3.6 Average of All Companies in this Industry (1,424)
Anonymous Employee
Posted this month in Smithfield, VA

"Great company. Great People. Great atmosphere to work in and very intelligent people to work alongside."

Support You Get 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5 Person You Work For 5 / 5
People You Work With 5 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 5 / 5
Work Setting 5 / 5 Company Culture 5 / 5
Food Safety Manager
Posted 2 years ago in Grayson, KY

"Travel expectation was too rigourous. Inadequate leadership or resources."

What do you like about working at Smithfield Foods?

"following food safety code and policing food production on the plant floor."

What don't you like about working at Smithfield Foods?

"Inadequate support of upper management. Lack of cooperation from other departments to acheive food production in a safe environment."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Setting unrealistic expectations for this position without proper leadership and guidance then trying to correct for it in inappropriate ways."

Growth Opportunities 2 / 5 Work Setting 3 / 5 People You Work With 3 / 5
Way You Work 3 / 5 Support You Get 3 / 5 Company Culture 3 / 5
Person You Work For 1 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5

Average Smithfield Foods Ratings in the Past 3 Years

Year Salary
2011 $3
2012 $2
2013 $5
Operations Manager
Posted 2 years ago in Clayton, NC
Way You Work 4.6 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3.1 / 5 Support You Get 4 / 5
Company Culture 3.7 / 5 Person You Work For 4.8 / 5 Work Setting 4.7 / 5
Growth Opportunities 3.1 / 5 People You Work With 4.7 / 5
Lead Contract Administrator
Posted 3 years ago
Work Setting 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 4.9 / 5 People You Work With 3.9 / 5
Company Culture 4 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3.8 / 5 Way You Work 4.1 / 5
Person You Work For 3 / 5 Support You Get 4 / 5
Warehouse Associate
Posted 3 years ago in Cumming, GA
Person You Work For 3.1 / 5 People You Work With 3.4 / 5 Rewards You Receive 1.1 / 5
Way You Work 4.9 / 5 Growth Opportunities 1.2 / 5 Support You Get 3 / 5
Company Culture 3.1 / 5 Work Setting 3 / 5
Supervisor
Posted 3 years ago in Green Bay, VA
Person You Work For 3.2 / 5 Work Setting 2.9 / 5 Support You Get 2.3 / 5
People You Work With 4.1 / 5 Company Culture 3.1 / 5 Growth Opportunities 1.9 / 5
Way You Work 4.2 / 5 Rewards You Receive 1.9 / 5
Lead Machine Operator
Posted 3 years ago in Wilson, NC
People You Work With 4.7 / 5 Company Culture 4.8 / 5 Growth Opportunities 4.8 / 5
Way You Work 4.9 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3.4 / 5 Person You Work For 4.8 / 5
Work Setting 4.7 / 5 Support You Get 4.8 / 5
HR Manager
Posted 4 years ago

What don't you like about working at Smithfield Foods?

"long hours 60 plus per week, and work weeks of six days"

Accounts Receivable Specialist
Posted 4 years ago in Charlotte, NC

"Good company to work for."

What do you like about working at Smithfield Foods?

"I enjoyed the duties that I preformed. I enjoyed the people I worked with. The pay was and benefits were good."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Be positive and have a good attitude."

What don't you like about working at Smithfield Foods?

"Benefits packages were reduced."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Work load was strenuous, a couple of additional employees would have made things flow smoother."

Executive Assistant
Posted 4 years ago in New York, NY

"This was a really good place for me to learn about finance and advance my computer skills."

What do you like about working at Smithfield Foods?

"My boss, Jerry, was my favorite thing about Smithfield. He was just a really nice and patient man. I liked working on the PowerPoint presentations and the press releases as well."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"When I interviewed they had just lost someone because she didn't like working for a pork company. I would come to terms with the fact that your money would be coming from animal slaughtering beforehand."

What don't you like about working at Smithfield Foods?

"I was part of a satellite office, to move up meant relocating to Virginia. I also worked for only one VP, if I had been in the Virgina office I would have had about 4. I wasn't terribly busy and quickly hit the ceiling with what there was to learn."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"I would suggest that some sort of additional responsibilities be added to the position. You can only organize files so many times and most press releases didn't take more than a few hours to bounce around the various departments. Most of the other work was quarterly."

Contractor
Posted 4 years ago

"it was okay"

What do you like about working at Smithfield Foods?

"I didn't like working at Smithfield"

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Be willing to work for long hours."

What don't you like about working at Smithfield Foods?

"Loading and using heavy mechinery."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"I think that it was fair most of the time."

Materials Handling Superintendent
Posted 4 years ago in Plainwell, MI

"stay on top of it"

What do you like about working at Smithfield Foods?

"The fast pace"

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"be agressive"

What don't you like about working at Smithfield Foods?

"nothing"

What suggestions do you have for management?

"not a thing"

Industrial Electrician
Posted 5 years ago

"Only if you really need the money"

What do you like about working at Smithfield Foods?

"rotating shifts"

What don't you like about working at Smithfield Foods?

"lack of training for personnel causes higher workload for trained"

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Train staff as needed"

We noticed that your web browser is outdated!

Update your browser to have a more positive job search experience.

Upgrade My Browser

×