We're not sure where that is... Please try another location.
Smithfield Foods
3.7 (13)
Industry: Food Manufacturing - HQ: Smithfield, VA
http://www.smithfieldfoods.com

Smithfield Foods Reviews

2
2
3
0
0
3.7
Average Rating
(based on 7 Smithfield Foods Review Ratings)
Company Culture 3.8
Growth Opportunities 3.3
People You Work With 4.1
Person You Work For 3.6
Rewards You Receive 3.0
Support You Get 3.7
Way You Work 4.4
Work Setting 3.9

13 Smithfield Foods Company Reviews and Ratings

See All Reviews »
Anonymous Employee
Posted 6 months ago in Smithfield, VA

"Great company. Great People. Great atmosphere to work in and very intelligent people to work alongside."

Support You Get 5 Growth Opportunities 5 Person You Work For 5
People You Work With 5 Way You Work 5 Rewards You Receive 5
Work Setting 5 Company Culture 5

Company Rating Comparison

3.7
Smithfield Foods (13)

4.7 Highest Rated in this Industry is Farmland Foods (8)
3.0 Lowest Rated in this Industry is Medifast (8)
3.6 Average of All Companies in this Industry (1,277)
Food Safety Manager
Posted last year in Grayson, KY

"Travel expectation was too rigourous. Inadequate leadership or resources."

What do you like about working at Smithfield Foods?

"following food safety code and policing food production on the plant floor."

What don't you like about working at Smithfield Foods?

"Inadequate support of upper management. Lack of cooperation from other departments to acheive food production in a safe environment."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Setting unrealistic expectations for this position without proper leadership and guidance then trying to correct for it in inappropriate ways."

Growth Opportunities 2 Work Setting 3 People You Work With 3
Way You Work 3 Support You Get 3 Company Culture 3
Person You Work For 1 Rewards You Receive 3

Average Smithfield Foods Ratings in the Past 5 Years

Year Salary
2011 $3
2012 $2
2013 $5
Operations Manager
Posted 2 years ago in Clayton, NC
Support You Get 4 Company Culture 3.7 Person You Work For 4.8
Work Setting 4.7 Growth Opportunities 3.1 People You Work With 4.7
Way You Work 4.6 Rewards You Receive 3.1
Lead Contract Administrator
Posted 2 years ago
Way You Work 4.1 Person You Work For 3 Support You Get 4
Growth Opportunities 4.9 Work Setting 4 People You Work With 3.9
Company Culture 4 Rewards You Receive 3.8
Warehouse Associate
Posted 2 years ago in Cumming, GA
Support You Get 3 Company Culture 3.1 Work Setting 3
Way You Work 4.9 Growth Opportunities 1.2 Person You Work For 3.1
People You Work With 3.4 Rewards You Receive 1.1
Supervisor
Posted 2 years ago in Green Bay, VA
Person You Work For 3.2 Work Setting 2.9 Support You Get 2.3
People You Work With 4.1 Company Culture 3.1 Growth Opportunities 1.9
Rewards You Receive 1.9 Way You Work 4.2
Lead Machine Operator
Posted 2 years ago in Wilson, NC
Person You Work For 4.8 Work Setting 4.7 Support You Get 4.8
People You Work With 4.7 Company Culture 4.8 Rewards You Receive 3.4
Growth Opportunities 4.8 Way You Work 4.9
HR Manager
Posted this month

What don't you like about working at Smithfield Foods?

"long hours 60 plus per week, and work weeks of six days"

Accounts Receivable Specialist
Posted 4 years ago in Charlotte, NC

"Good company to work for."

What do you like about working at Smithfield Foods?

"I enjoyed the duties that I preformed. I enjoyed the people I worked with. The pay was and benefits were good."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Be positive and have a good attitude."

What don't you like about working at Smithfield Foods?

"Benefits packages were reduced."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Work load was strenuous, a couple of additional employees would have made things flow smoother."

Executive Assistant
Posted 4 years ago in New York, NY

"This was a really good place for me to learn about finance and advance my computer skills."

What do you like about working at Smithfield Foods?

"My boss, Jerry, was my favorite thing about Smithfield. He was just a really nice and patient man. I liked working on the PowerPoint presentations and the press releases as well."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"When I interviewed they had just lost someone because she didn't like working for a pork company. I would come to terms with the fact that your money would be coming from animal slaughtering beforehand."

What don't you like about working at Smithfield Foods?

"I was part of a satellite office, to move up meant relocating to Virginia. I also worked for only one VP, if I had been in the Virgina office I would have had about 4. I wasn't terribly busy and quickly hit the ceiling with what there was to learn."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"I would suggest that some sort of additional responsibilities be added to the position. You can only organize files so many times and most press releases didn't take more than a few hours to bounce around the various departments. Most of the other work was quarterly."

Contractor
Posted 4 years ago

"it was okay"

What do you like about working at Smithfield Foods?

"I didn't like working at Smithfield"

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Be willing to work for long hours."

What don't you like about working at Smithfield Foods?

"Loading and using heavy mechinery."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"I think that it was fair most of the time."

Materials Handling Superintendent
Posted 4 years ago in Plainwell, MI

"stay on top of it"

What do you like about working at Smithfield Foods?

"The fast pace"

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"be agressive"

What don't you like about working at Smithfield Foods?

"nothing"

What suggestions do you have for management?

"not a thing"

Industrial Electrician
Posted 4 years ago

"Only if you really need the money"

What do you like about working at Smithfield Foods?

"rotating shifts"

What don't you like about working at Smithfield Foods?

"lack of training for personnel causes higher workload for trained"

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Train staff as needed"

Advertisement
Jobs You Might Like
Marketing
Athena Health Care Systems
North Easton, MA
Finance
Education Management
Pennsylvania, PA
Finance
Education Management
Pennsylvania, PA
Engineer
CBS
New York City, NY
UserLocation: Dunellen, NJ
Advertisement