Company Menu
3
3
2
0
0
4.1
Average Rating
(based on 8 Principal Financial Group Review Ratings)
Company Culture 4.0
Growth Opportunities 3.4
People You Work With 4.5
Person You Work For 4.0
Rewards You Receive 4.6
Support You Get 3.6
Way You Work 4.1
Work Setting 4.5

14 Principal Financial Group Company Reviews and Ratings


Anonymous Employee
Posted 4 months ago in Fresno, CA

"I have worked for this company 4 years."

Work Setting 5 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5
Person You Work For 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 1 / 5 Support You Get 2 / 5
Company Culture 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 5 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 4 months ago in Des Moines, IA

"PFG is a great place to work! Work life balance is important here as well as straight talk."

Way You Work 3 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5
Support You Get 2 / 5 Company Culture 4 / 5 Person You Work For 2 / 5
Growth Opportunities 3 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5

Company-Industry Rating Comparison

4.1
Principal Financial Group (14)

4.5 Highest Rated in this Industry is Flying J (10)
2.5 Lowest Rated in this Industry is Word & Brown Insurance Administrators (9)
3.6 Average of All Companies in this Industry (6,112)
Anonymous Employee
Posted 7 months ago in Salt Lake City, UT

"I worked in an office not located near the headquarters in Des Moines and there was no opportunity for growth and in the end the bad company decisions resulted in closing the claims center in the city I worked. While I was there the job was okay and had some support from the management and we in this office did a top notch job in delivering a high quality product."

Growth Opportunities 1 / 5 Person You Work For 4 / 5 People You Work With 3 / 5
Support You Get 2 / 5 Work Setting 3 / 5 Way You Work 3 / 5
Company Culture 3 / 5 Rewards You Receive 5 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 8 months ago in Des Moines, IA

"I used 4 months with my group members to finish the term project, we had chance to communicate with the board member and they awarded us for our good performance."

Rewards You Receive 5 / 5 Support You Get 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5
Work Setting 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Person You Work For 5 / 5 Company Culture 5 / 5

Average Principal Financial Group Ratings in the Past 2 Years

Year Salary
2011 $5
2012 $4
Associate Consultant
Posted 8 months ago in Des Moines, IA

"I am working in Principal Financial Group since Feb 2012 as Associate Consultant in India. This company is providing a very good exposure in terms of professional as well as personal growth."

Support You Get 4 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5
Person You Work For 5 / 5 Company Culture 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5
Way You Work 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 5 / 5
Financial Advisor
Posted 2 years ago in Lombard, IL

What do you like about working at Principal Financial Group?

"The ability to positively effect people's lives and their future planning"

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Each individual is different and will require attentuion in areas they are not familiar with at all"

What don't you like about working at Principal Financial Group?

"Heavilly regulated with duplicative paperwork that must be completed on each sale"

What suggestions do you have for management?

"More classroom training for the collateral paperwork involved on all transactions"

People You Work With 4 / 5 Person You Work For 5 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 4 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Support You Get 4 / 5 Company Culture 3 / 5
Financial Representative
Posted 2 years ago in Houston, TX
Rewards You Receive 5 / 5 Company Culture 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Way You Work 2 / 5 Person You Work For 3 / 5
Work Setting 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5
Assistant Financial Advisor
Posted 3 years ago in Syracuse, NY
Growth Opportunities 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 5 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Company Culture 5 / 5 Person You Work For 5 / 5
Way You Work 5 / 5 People You Work With 4.9 / 5
Account Executive
Posted 4 years ago

What do you like about working at Principal Financial Group?

"Originally, their commitment to the client. Excellent staff. I made lifetime friends there, all across the country"

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Be yourself. Don't act like someone you're not. Neither of you will be happy if you get the job and personalities don't jive"

What don't you like about working at Principal Financial Group?

"Management has changed for the worse over the past few years. Commitment to customer service has gone downhill."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"GO BACK TO THE WAY IT WAS 4 YEARS AGO. You don't have to spend a lot of money to commit excellent service to your clients. The staff you've kept after layoffs may be less expensive, but they are also less client-oriented!"

Security Associate
Posted 4 years ago in Des Moines, IA

"Don't argue with the process, just do the work."

What do you like about working at Principal Financial Group?

"The quiet time and people working together as a team to accomplish multiple goals."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Ask if their are any layoffs and how they fixed/accomplished the layoffs."

What don't you like about working at Principal Financial Group?

"How one cannot take a stand for what is right."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Be open for the employees."

Application Analyst
Posted 4 years ago in Des Moines, IA

What do you like about working at Principal Financial Group?

"Flexibility, work life balance"

Marketing Specialist
Posted 4 years ago in San Jose, CA

"Principal Financial was an excellent place to work. If I was still in CA and the site was still there, I believe I would still be working there."

What do you like about working at Principal Financial Group?

"Everyone was very friendly and eager to teach me new things."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Go in with a smile and be eager to learn."

What don't you like about working at Principal Financial Group?

"They closed our site down."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Keep up the excellent work."

IT Systems Analyst
Posted 5 years ago

What do you like about working at Principal Financial Group?

"Work/life balance, PTO accural rate."

What don't you like about working at Principal Financial Group?

"Compensation/salary"

Financial Services Representative
Posted 5 years ago

"Great Experience"

What do you like about working at Principal Financial Group?

"I have the opportunity to work with individuals on a one on one basis and help them set and achieve their financial goals."

What don't you like about working at Principal Financial Group?

"The position does not allow for a good balance between my work and personal life."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Additional Training"

We noticed that your web browser is outdated!

Update your browser to have a more positive job search experience.

Upgrade My Browser

×