Company Menu

Pep Boys Auto Reviews

On average, employees at Pep Boys Auto give their company a 3.8 rating out of 5.0 - which is equal to the average rating for all companies on CareerBliss. The happiest Pep Boys Auto employees are Store Managers submitting an average rating of 3.7 and Service Managers with a rating of 3.1. Browse Pep Boys Auto Reviews by Job Title →

5
14
10
2
0
3.8
Average Rating
(based on 31 Pep Boys Auto Review Ratings)
Company Culture 3.5
Growth Opportunities 3.1
People You Work With 4.2
Person You Work For 4.1
Rewards You Receive 3.6
Support You Get 3.6
Way You Work 4.2
Work Setting 3.7

Pep Boys Auto Jobs

View All »

55 Pep Boys Auto Company Reviews and Ratings


Anonymous Employee
Posted 5 months ago in Philadelphia, PA

"I like the people I work with but the company has outdated systems and processes in many areas. The industry is pretty flat and status quo is accepted. Execution of goals is difficult and time-consuming due to the amount of approvals needed. Not very progressive. Some people make excuses for poor performance and it is tolerated by leadership. Engagement is lacking."

Work Setting 3 / 5 Support You Get 2 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5
Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Company Culture 3 / 5
Person You Work For 3 / 5 Way You Work 2 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 6 months ago in Philadelphia, PA

"I have been with Pep Boys for one year. It is a good company that has many challenges in front of them. I have added numerous accounts to my territory with an 85% increase over last yrs numbers at this time. Currently I am at 56% increase year to date. Some things I would need to do my job more efficiently I do not have access to. On a scale of 1-10, 10 being a great, I give Pep Boys a 7. I have built great relationships with all of my store managers, my immediate supervisor also."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 Company Culture 3 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5
Growth Opportunities 2 / 5 Work Setting 3 / 5 Support You Get 2 / 5
People You Work With 5 / 5 Way You Work 3 / 5

Company-Industry Rating Comparison

3.8
Pep Boys Auto (55)

4.5 Highest Rated in this Industry is New United Motor Manufacturing (49)
2.7 Lowest Rated in this Industry is Infiniti (16)
3.5 Average of All Companies in this Industry (1,428)
Anonymous Employee
Posted 7 months ago

"I have worked for Pep Boys for more then half a dozen years, the benefits are alright, the pay for sales associates seems highly sub par. While my boss and my co workers are excellent recently, working conditions and relations with those above store level have become atrocious.I have lost all faith and trust of management above regular store level."

Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Work Setting 1 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5
People You Work With 5 / 5 Person You Work For 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 2 / 5
Support You Get 2 / 5 Company Culture 1 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 9 months ago in Philadelphia, PA

"I've been with Pep Boys for over 15 years and I must say the company has been good to me over the years. Like anything in life, there are both positives and negatives but some of the positives are a competitive wage and better than average benefits. Overall, it has been a good experience for me here and I would recommend Pep Boys to anyone considering them as an employer."

Work Setting 3 / 5 Support You Get 3 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5
Company Culture 3 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5
Person You Work For 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5

Average Pep Boys Auto Ratings in the Past 3 Years

Year Salary
2011 $4
2012 $3
2013 $2
Service Manager
Posted last year in Houston, TX

"Grew HUGE sales and got pushed aside"

What do you like about working at Pep Boys Auto?

"Helping customers and actually getting them what they need not just something sold to them. I enjoy finding an actual solution not randomly guessing and hoping it solves the problem for them"

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Don't expect the support you get in the beginning to last. They will grow bored and stop listening to you and start referring to you as a nuisance instead of their idealist"

What don't you like about working at Pep Boys Auto?

"Upper management makes lots of promises to correct or change problems yet they never do, and when you escalate it past the with documentation they throw you under a bus and watch you fail with NO support until you get fired on technicalities or walk"

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Listen to the managers asking for certain things on the store level. Like each customer is different each store and its requirements may vary and need something the others don't to support their volume"

Person You Work For 1 / 5 Work Setting 3 / 5 People You Work With 1 / 5
Company Culture 1 / 5 Way You Work 2 / 5 Support You Get 2 / 5
Growth Opportunities 2 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5
Lead Programmer
Posted last year in Philadelphia, PA

"OK place to work."

What do you like about working at Pep Boys Auto?

"Have a lot of freedom with regards to conducting your job."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Consider it to be a short term job. Too may layoffs."

What don't you like about working at Pep Boys Auto?

"A lot of layoffs. Poor management. Not a friendly place."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Need some creative ideas. Need to institute a real corporate culture."

Growth Opportunities 1 / 5 Person You Work For 2 / 5 People You Work With 2 / 5
Support You Get 2 / 5 Company Culture 2 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5
Work Setting 2 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Service Writer
Posted last year in Escondido, CA

"They offered equal opportunity but don't actually give it"

What do you like about working at Pep Boys Auto?

"I liked the customers and making their life easier in that they could trust me not to take advantage of or rip them off for services or products they actually needed, plus standing by my word as far as guarantees or quality work being performed."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"If you're female, don't speak English well, or ask too many questions you probably won't last very long"

What don't you like about working at Pep Boys Auto?

"I was the only woman so I was singled out a lot of the time by management and my boss that had to meet quotas that I was surpassing, thereby making him totally mess up my schedule and tailor it to the best way to funnel in my commissions to his check."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Deliver what they offer, like true EEO opportunities to all genders and races, and keep better tabs and check actual track records of managers, talk to the people under them and investigate all allegations before making decisions that will affect the lives of both the employees and consumers"

Support You Get 2 / 5 Work Setting 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 1 / 5
Way You Work 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 2 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5
Company Culture 5 / 5 Person You Work For 2 / 5
Customer Service Manager
Posted 2 years ago in Panama City, FL

What do you like about working at Pep Boys Auto?

"I like to help people and getting their cars fixed is my specialty. making the whole process smooth can make a bad situation less stressful"

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"be weary of the pay structure. it sounds nice on paper, but it's really not"

What don't you like about working at Pep Boys Auto?

"I don't like the company's structure and ideas of redesigning something that worked so well. they don't take care of the employees when they deserve it"

What suggestions do you have for management?

"I suggest they start listening to what the people who work for them have to say"

People You Work With 3 / 5 Support You Get 2 / 5 Rewards You Receive 2 / 5
Growth Opportunities 2 / 5 Work Setting 3 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Person You Work For 4 / 5 Company Culture 2 / 5
Logistics Coordinator
Posted 2 years ago in Philadelphia, PA

"I provide all employers a good day of work each and every day."

What do you like about working at Pep Boys Auto?

"I like the people, co-worker interaction, environment and overall company culture."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"I do not have tips to pass on at this time."

What don't you like about working at Pep Boys Auto?

"I do not lack the lack of job growth and salary."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Management should pay its workers for their job performance and their job experience."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 Work Setting 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5
Way You Work 4 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Support You Get 4 / 5
Company Culture 4 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5
Assistant Manager
Posted 2 years ago in Lawrenceville, GA

"Management, Customer Service, Sales, and Computer Information Systems"

What do you like about working at Pep Boys Auto?

"The atmosphere can be very busy with assignments that need to be completed and on time."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Do your research and homework on the company before the interview."

What don't you like about working at Pep Boys Auto?

"The team work of an individual can be very complicated, if there is a confusion."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Anyone who possesses a management position, be sure the other people and you are on the same page. Communication, integrity and respect."

Work Setting 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Person You Work For 3 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5
Support You Get 3 / 5 Company Culture 3 / 5
Director
Posted 2 years ago

"Great company! Best in the industry!"

What do you like about working at Pep Boys Auto?

"They care enough about associates that they give avenues for feed back, and do yearly surveys of what the company can do better.who else does that."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Tips would be if can handle the amount of interviews that we do, and we offer you a job then take it. We do interviews to make sure we hire the right people."

What don't you like about working at Pep Boys Auto?

"The core group's inability to stand behind the agreement and not try to negotiate."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Continue tO get feedback from associates and customers on what works and what doesn't work."

Work Setting 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5 Support You Get 5 / 5
Company Culture 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Rewards You Receive 5 / 5 Person You Work For 5 / 5
Lead Sales Associate
Posted 2 years ago in Montclair, CA
People You Work With 4.6 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3.1 / 5 Work Setting 4.6 / 5
Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 Support You Get 4.1 / 5 Company Culture 3.9 / 5
Way You Work 4.8 / 5 Person You Work For 4.5 / 5
Store Manager
Posted 2 years ago in Frederick, MD
Support You Get 1.4 / 5 Company Culture 2.9 / 5 Way You Work 4.8 / 5
Work Setting 3.1 / 5 Growth Opportunities 2.6 / 5 People You Work With 3.9 / 5
Rewards You Receive 1.3 / 5 Person You Work For 3.9 / 5
Manager
Posted 2 years ago
Work Setting 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5
Company Culture 3.8 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3.4 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5
Support You Get 3.6 / 5 Person You Work For 5 / 5
Mechanic
Posted 2 years ago in Hanford, CA
Way You Work 3.8 / 5 People You Work With 3.9 / 5 Support You Get 3.9 / 5
Company Culture 4 / 5 Work Setting 4.1 / 5 Growth Opportunities 4 / 5
Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 Person You Work For 3.6 / 5
We noticed that your web browser is outdated!

Update your browser to have a more positive job search experience.

Upgrade My Browser

×