Career Menu

Makeup Artist Reviews

Makeup Artists give their job an average rating of 3.6 out of 5.0. The Makeup Artists happiest with their jobs are employed by MAC Cosmetics with an average rating of 4.3 while the Makeup Artists least happy with their jobs work for Bloomingdale's with an average rating of 2.2.

Makeup Artist Jobs near Dunellen, NJ

View All »

21 Makeup Artist Reviews and Ratings


Makeup Artist at DuWop Cosmetics
Posted 9 months ago in Van Nuys, CA

"I have been working for this company for about three months and I have been only paid for two weeks!!! I'm now scrambling to find something else since they literally owe me thousands of dollars now and I have no date of when I'm expected to get paid. I'm in financial trouble thanks to them."

Way You Work 5 / 5 Company Culture 3 / 5 People You Work With 3 / 5
Growth Opportunities 2 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5 Person You Work For 3 / 5
Support You Get 1 / 5 Rewards You Receive 1 / 5
Makeup Artist at Macy's
Posted 2 years ago in Dallas, TX

What do you like about working at Macy's?

"Was good environment, people were great. There was not a ton of pressure to meet or exceed sales goals which in this market was not too bad Managers were quick to appreciate a job well done."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Don't do it!! I couldn't choose a lower salary option than $30-40k (for this questionnaire), but it wasn't even that high!!!!"

What don't you like about working at Macy's?

"Crazy hours, pay was awful, supplies were not well supplied"

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Less crazy retail hours!! Open early, stay late is a BIG bummer. More supplies. You can't run out of tissue/Kleenex at a makeup counter. We had to constantly work to find and keep a box of tissue on our counter. How am I supposed to sell when I'm worried about supplies"

Person You Work For 4 / 5 Work Setting 3 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5
Company Culture 3 / 5 Rewards You Receive 1 / 5 Growth Opportunities 1 / 5
Support You Get 1 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5
Makeup Artist at Celebeautique HairSpa
Posted 2 years ago in Newport, RI

What do you like about working at Celebeautique HairSpa?

"I enjoy the people I work with every day, and I love helping women feel beautiful."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"I would suggest coming into the salon to introduce yourself and meet with the owner in person."

What don't you like about working at Celebeautique HairSpa?

"It is in Newport, RI, and there is no parking."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"I don't have any suggestions for management, it is a small business and it is run very efficiently."

Support You Get 5 / 5 Company Culture 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 4 / 5
People You Work With 5 / 5 Person You Work For 5 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Rewards You Receive 5 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5

Makeup Artist Career Rating Comparison

3.6
All Makeup Artists
4.3 Highest Rated Makeup Artists are at MAC Cosmetics (4)
2.2 Lowest Rated Makeup Artists are at Bloomingdale's (7)
Makeup Artist at Benefit Cosmetics
Posted 2 years ago
Rewards You Receive 4.9 / 5 Support You Get 4.7 / 5 Growth Opportunities 4 / 5
Company Culture 4.8 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Person You Work For 4.8 / 5
Work Setting 4.8 / 5 Way You Work 4.8 / 5
Makeup Artist at Chanel
Posted 2 years ago
Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5 Person You Work For 5 / 5
Support You Get 4 / 5 Company Culture 3.5 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5
Way You Work 3 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Makeup Artist at MAC Cosmetics
Posted 2 years ago
Person You Work For 4.9 / 5 Work Setting 4.8 / 5 Way You Work 4.8 / 5
Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 Support You Get 4.1 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5
People You Work With 4.8 / 5 Company Culture 4 / 5
Makeup Artist at Bare Escentuals
Posted 3 years ago in New York, NY
Rewards You Receive 2.8 / 5 People You Work With 4.8 / 5 Work Setting 4.5 / 5
Person You Work For 5 / 5 Way You Work 3.8 / 5 Company Culture 4.3 / 5
Growth Opportunities 3 / 5 Support You Get 4.4 / 5
Makeup Artist at Bloomingdale's
Posted 3 years ago in New York, NY
People You Work With 3.2 / 5 Work Setting 2.1 / 5 Growth Opportunities 2.2 / 5
Way You Work 2 / 5 Company Culture 2.1 / 5 Rewards You Receive 1.5 / 5
Support You Get 2.2 / 5
Makeup Artist at Stila Cosmetics
Posted 3 years ago

What do you like about working at Stila Cosmetics?

"Stila offers a wonderful line of professional make-up."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"a great place to get experience in the cosmetics industry."

What don't you like about working at Stila Cosmetics?

"Stila does not offer any benefits nor do they gurantee hours"

What suggestions do you have for management?

"hire artist as employess and offer them benefits"

Rewards You Receive 2.7 / 5 People You Work With 3.1 / 5 Support You Get 3.1 / 5
Company Culture 3.1 / 5 Work Setting 3.1 / 5 Person You Work For 3.5 / 5
Growth Opportunities 2.7 / 5 Way You Work 3.5 / 5
Makeup Artist at Duty Free Americas
Posted this month

What do you like about working at Duty Free Americas?

"I enjoyed working with my coworkers and the environment of seeing passengers traveling all over the world."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"This is a great place to work at. The company is very fair and you get to learn so many things and go through many different experiences."

Makeup Artist at Cosmetics Plus
Posted 4 years ago in New York, NY

"The company no longer exists!"

What do you like about working at Cosmetics Plus?

"This was almost two decades ago. It was just a job."

What don't you like about working at Cosmetics Plus?

"The money and upper management needed work."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"No comment."

Makeup Artist at MAC Cosmetics
Posted 4 years ago in New York, NY

"Baptism by fire"

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"be creative!"

What don't you like about working at MAC Cosmetics?

"no advancement"

What suggestions do you have for management?

"more encouragment"

Makeup Artist at Trish McEvoy
Posted 4 years ago in New York, NY

"Trish herself is a very successful woman and treats her employees well and with a lot of respect"

What do you like about working at Trish McEvoy?

"Her product is unique. She developed the makeup planning system. She also carries a simple skin care line that is easy for customers to use. Trish also gives her employees the opportunity to grow within her company."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"You have to be very fashionable and up on the trends."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"To keep on coming up with new ideas that feed off of her planner system."

Makeup Artist at MAC Cosmetics
Posted 4 years ago in Oklahoma City, OK

What do you like about working at MAC Cosmetics?

"I worked with a really great team."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Be yourself."

What don't you like about working at MAC Cosmetics?

"I didn't receive enough hours to make a sustainable income."

Makeup Artist at MAC Cosmetics
Posted 4 years ago in Chicago, IL

"MAC is a great place for those seeking a lifetime commitment to the Cosmetics Industry"

What do you like about working at MAC Cosmetics?

"The opportunity to implement my creative skills. MAC was a very open-minded place to work."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Yes, be able to complete a full make-over in 30 minutes. Know HOW to sell! But even if you don't know how to sell, but you are good at make-up, they WILL train you on sales techniques, but be an artist first and they will guide you."

What don't you like about working at MAC Cosmetics?

"Benefits are only available to those completing 40 hrs of work a week. I was only part-time."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"None. The management team is outstanding!"

Advertisement
UserLocation: Dunellen, NJ
Jobs You Might Like
Advertisement
We noticed that your web browser is outdated!

Update your browser to have a more positive job search experience.

Upgrade My Browser

×