We're not sure where that is... Please try another location.
H&R Block
4.2 (191)
Industry: Accounting and Payrol Services - HQ: Kansas City, MO
http://www.hrblock.com

H&R Block Reviews

48
41
15
1
0
4.2
Average Rating
(based on 105 H&R Block Review Ratings)
Company Culture 4.1
Growth Opportunities 3.7
People You Work With 4.5
Person You Work For 4.4
Rewards You Receive 3.7
Support You Get 4.3
Way You Work 4.4
Work Setting 4.3
H&R Block JobsView All »

191 H&R Block Company Reviews and Ratings

See All Reviews »
Anonymous Employee
Posted yesterday in Cookeville, TN

"2014 was my first tax season with HRB and I enjoyed it. The work was challenging but satisfying, and enjoyed working with my co-workers and manager."

Person You Work For 4 Work Setting 4 People You Work With 4
Way You Work 4 Rewards You Receive 3 Support You Get 4
Company Culture 4 Growth Opportunities 4

Company Rating Comparison

4.2
H&R Block (191)

4.3 Highest Rated in this Industry is Entertainment Partners (11)
3.3 Lowest Rated in this Industry is Lionbridge Technologies (12)
3.7 Average of All Companies in this Industry (1,772)
Anonymous Employee
Posted last month in Syracuse, UT

"I would never recommend working for H&R Block as a developer. My immediate team members and director were awesome people and I loved working with them but the corporate environment is extremely toxic. All praises while your killing yourself for them and then a knife in the back when the work is done. Four rounds of layoffs in five years should be indication enough that they are not worth working for."

Support You Get 3 Person You Work For 5 Work Setting 3
Rewards You Receive 5 People You Work With 5 Growth Opportunities 2
Way You Work 3 Company Culture 5

Average H&R Block Ratings in the Past 5 Years

Year Salary
2011 $4
2012 $4
2013 $3
Technical Support Specialist
Posted last month in San Diego, CA

"I've worked with Block for about 2 years and I would say I enjoy the environment and the people I'm surrounded by every day, makes work a lot more enjoyable. I also enjoy the type of work I handle every day and with the staff it makes it easier to get by."

Company Culture 5 Rewards You Receive 5 Growth Opportunities 5
Person You Work For 5 People You Work With 5 Work Setting 5
Way You Work 5 Support You Get 4

Common Words Used To Describe Working at H&R Block

"great people"
3 Reviewers
"growth opportunity"
3 Reviewers
"helping people"
4 Reviewers
Anonymous Employee
Posted 2 months ago in Boca Raton, FL

"Worked for 6 months and the job was a seasonal job."

People You Work With 3 Company Culture 3 Person You Work For 3
Way You Work 3 Rewards You Receive 3 Support You Get 3
Work Setting 3 Growth Opportunities 3
Anonymous Employee
Posted 2 months ago in Durham, NC

"I've worked with H&R Block since 2010. They make sure that their tax professionals are educated and understand the laws of taxes. Some say that the fees charged are a little over priced, and salaries of associates are underpaid."

Support You Get 3 Work Setting 5 Company Culture 5
Growth Opportunities 3 Rewards You Receive 2 People You Work With 5
Person You Work For 5 Way You Work 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 3 months ago in Kansas City, MO

"H&R Block is an enigma. There is so much potential yet the company cannot innovate to save its life. It is full of professionals who only desire to keep their jobs and never achieve greatness. Like a government office, people do the minimum to get buy and never risk being noticed by being bold. The leadership has an ivory tower approach and their locked-down, security laden top floor proves this. The company is only focused on shareholder value while clients and employees suffer."

Rewards You Receive 5 Company Culture 3 Work Setting 2
Growth Opportunities 1 Way You Work 2 People You Work With 5
Support You Get 1 Person You Work For 2
AVP of Finance
Posted 4 months ago in Kaysville, UT

"Company is really good at doing the business that they know and have been serving for decades, but struggles with pushing innovation throughout the organization. New ideas and strategies are not typically embraced, though a lot of lip service is given to it. Business Strategy needs an overhaul. The company treats employees very fairly, actually better than fairly, and communicates regularly with employees."

Person You Work For 4 Work Setting 5 Way You Work 4
Growth Opportunities 3 Support You Get 5 Rewards You Receive 5
People You Work With 5 Company Culture 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 5 months ago in Kansas City, MO

"I worked for H&R Block since 2008. I only received a 50 cent raise the whole time. While I was there, went through 4 managers. Some even ended up as my co-workers. The people were fun to work with."

Person You Work For 4 Work Setting 3 Growth Opportunities 2
Way You Work 5 Support You Get 4 People You Work With 4
Rewards You Receive 2 Company Culture 3
Tax Associate
Posted 5 months ago in Sun Prairie, WI

"There is a reason this company has employees that have been there more than twenty years or less than five. This is a good place to get some training for a better job elsewhere."

People You Work With 3 Company Culture 3 Growth Opportunities 1
Work Setting 3 Support You Get 3 Rewards You Receive 1
Person You Work For 5 Way You Work 4
Assistant Manager
Posted 6 months ago in Downey, CA

"I've worked for this company since 2009. I find this company to really care about it's clients and treating them well is their number one priority. I've learned much from working for the company since the work flow demand changes everyday."

Work Setting 4.3 Rewards You Receive 4.3 People You Work With 4.3
Way You Work 4.3 Support You Get 4.3 Growth Opportunities 4.3
Person You Work For 4.3 Company Culture 4.3
Tax Professional
Posted 6 months ago in Boulder, CO

"Excellent company to work for. Lot of opportunity to work with people. Learn every year new things. Lot of growth opportunity.People are helping in the process of learning. Offers lot of free classes on federal and state taxes and tax laws. Has a opportunity to become enrolled agent. Over all it is good company and it is my pleasure to work the people."

Way You Work 3 People You Work With 3 Support You Get 3
Company Culture 3 Growth Opportunities 3 Rewards You Receive 3
Person You Work For 3 Work Setting 3
Director
Posted last year in Grand Blanc, MI

What do you like about working at H&R Block?

"The TEAM unity and desire to improve, relentlessly working together."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Be honest and plan on giving and getting the best"

What don't you like about working at H&R Block?

"Nothing-This single shingle practice has been a good learning experience."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Keep doing what you're doing share information, bad news first."

Support You Get 5 Way You Work 5 Rewards You Receive 5
Company Culture 5 Person You Work For 5 Work Setting 5
Growth Opportunities 5 People You Work With 5
Field Operations Manager
Posted last year in Kansas City, MO

"A great company full of great people"

What do you like about working at H&R Block?

"Great people who care about what they do, and how well they do it."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Understand the industry before you go in. Know the history and the structure."

What don't you like about working at H&R Block?

"Too much change. There is an annual reorganization that leaves the work force reeling every year..."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Not have every new leader come in and swing for the fence with change."

Rewards You Receive 3 Growth Opportunities 4 People You Work With 5
Support You Get 3 Company Culture 4 Way You Work 3
Person You Work For 4 Work Setting 5
Tax Professional
Posted last year in Oklahoma City, OK

"I like the pazzle work."

What do you like about working at H&R Block?

"Benefits and working with the clients. All cases are different."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"I do not understang that question. Need more specific witt."

What don't you like about working at H&R Block?

"Some ideas from the CEO that not helping to work at all."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"We need strong supervisors and do need more training for new people."

Rewards You Receive 5 Company Culture 5 Work Setting 5
Support You Get 5 Growth Opportunities 5 Way You Work 5
Person You Work For 5 People You Work With 4
Tax Professional
Posted last year in Chicago, IL

"Seasonal Work"

What do you like about working at H&R Block?

"Able to grow and learn new tax infor for upcoming ta year"

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"It is a great place to learn and make money"

What don't you like about working at H&R Block?

"They miscalculated my certified credit hours in which I should be a level 5 but I am a level 3"

What suggestions do you have for management?

"They need to take a closer look at year of experience"

Work Setting 5 Rewards You Receive 3 Company Culture 4
Support You Get 5 Growth Opportunities 5 Way You Work 5
People You Work With 5 Person You Work For 5
Advertisement
Jobs You Might Like
engineer
Confidential
Chelmsford, MA
Engineer
Creare, Inc.
Hanover, NH
Engineer
The Babcock & Wilcox Co.
Lynchburg, VA
Engineer
EGS
Virginia, VA
UserLocation: Dunellen, NJ
Advertisement