Company Menu

H&R Block Reviews

On average, employees at H&R Block give their company a 4.2 rating out of 5.0 - which is 10% higher than the average rating for all companies on CareerBliss. The happiest H&R Block employees are Customer Service Representatives submitting an average rating of 5.0 and Senior Tax Advisors with a rating of 4.8. Browse H&R Block Reviews by Job Title →

65
58
23
1
0
4.2
Average Rating
(based on 147 H&R Block Review Ratings)
Company Culture 4.1
Growth Opportunities 3.7
People You Work With 4.5
Person You Work For 4.5
Rewards You Receive 3.8
Support You Get 4.3
Way You Work 4.4
Work Setting 4.2

283 H&R Block Company Reviews and Ratings

4.1Posted 4 months ago in Kaysville, UT
"I have worked for HRB for 5 years and have had several opportunities to move up. I have enjoyed each challenge and grown with each opportunity. I am excited to continue to have these opportunities and feel that HRB would be a great choice for someone who can work hard and prove their worth."
Anonymous Employee
Posted last month in Columbus, GA

"I've worked for HR Block for two tax years. You learn a lot!"

Rewards You Receive 2 / 5 Support You Get 5 / 5 Company Culture 5 / 5
Work Setting 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 3 months ago in Roswell, GA

"I've worked for HR Block for a year and it has been an up and down experience, but it's a good place to start off on your own."

Support You Get 3 / 5 Company Culture 3 / 5 Person You Work For 4 / 5
Work Setting 3 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5
Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Way You Work 3 / 5

Company-Industry Rating Comparison

4.2
H&R Block (283)

4.2 Highest Rated in this Industry is H&R Block (283)
2.0 Lowest Rated in this Industry is alliantgroup (6)
3.7 Average of All Companies in this Industry (2,056)
QA Manager
Posted 4 months ago in Kaysville, UT

"I have worked for HRB for 5 years and have had several opportunities to move up. I have enjoyed each challenge and grown with each opportunity. I am excited to continue to have these opportunities and feel that HRB would be a great choice for someone who can work hard and prove their worth."

Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 Company Culture 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5
Person You Work For 5 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5
Way You Work 5 / 5 Support You Get 3 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 5 months ago in Fayetteville, AR

"The printer was older than me."

Way You Work 2 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Person You Work For 2 / 5
Work Setting 2 / 5 Growth Opportunities 2 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5
Company Culture 3 / 5 Support You Get 2 / 5

Average H&R Block Ratings in the Past 4 Years

Year Salary
2010 $3
2011 $4
2012 $4
2013 $3
Customer Service Representative
Posted 5 months ago in Bell, CA

"I've worked with H&R Block for a couple of months and I learned so much about their company. It's a big company and has great opportunities for anybody. As my first job it was a great experience. I learned how to multi task, achieve my goals and work as team. Everybody there was friendly and mostly made you feel at home and welcome. I enjoyed working with H&R Block Company. If later on in the future there is an opening position I would love to go back as an employee."

Work Setting 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 5 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Company Culture 5 / 5 Person You Work For 5 / 5
People You Work With 5 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 5 months ago in Las Vegas, NV

"Excellent to work for as a seasonal employee."

People You Work With 5 / 5 Person You Work For 5 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Growth Opportunities 5 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5 Support You Get 5 / 5
Company Culture 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 5 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 6 months ago in Cookeville, TN

"2014 was my first tax season with HRB and I enjoyed it. The work was challenging but satisfying, and enjoyed working with my co-workers and manager."

Growth Opportunities 4 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5
Support You Get 4 / 5 Company Culture 4 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5
Person You Work For 4 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 7 months ago in Syracuse, UT

"I would never recommend working for H&R Block as a developer. My immediate team members and director were awesome people and I loved working with them but the corporate environment is extremely toxic. All praises while you're killing yourself for them and then a knife in the back when the work is done. Four rounds of layoffs in five years should be indication enough that they are not worth working for."

Support You Get 3 / 5 Person You Work For 5 / 5 Work Setting 3 / 5
Rewards You Receive 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 2 / 5
Way You Work 3 / 5 Company Culture 5 / 5
Technical Support Specialist
Posted 7 months ago in San Diego, CA

"I've worked with Block for about 2 years and I would say I enjoy the environment and the people I'm surrounded by every day, makes work a lot more enjoyable. I also enjoy the type of work I handle every day and with the staff it makes it easier to get by."

Rewards You Receive 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5 Person You Work For 5 / 5
People You Work With 5 / 5 Company Culture 5 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Way You Work 5 / 5 Support You Get 4 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 8 months ago in Boca Raton, FL

"Worked for 6 months and the job was a seasonal job."

Work Setting 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5 Support You Get 3 / 5
Way You Work 3 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 People You Work With 3 / 5
Company Culture 3 / 5 Person You Work For 3 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 8 months ago in Durham, NC

"I've worked with H&R Block since 2010. They make sure that their tax professionals are educated and understand the laws of taxes. Some say that the fees charged are a little over priced, and salaries of associates are underpaid."

Support You Get 3 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5 Company Culture 5 / 5
Growth Opportunities 3 / 5 Rewards You Receive 2 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5
Person You Work For 5 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 9 months ago in Kansas City, MO

"H&R Block is an enigma. There is so much potential yet the company cannot innovate to save its life. It is full of professionals who only desire to keep their jobs and never achieve greatness. Like a government office, people do the minimum to get by and never risk being noticed by being bold. The leadership has an ivory tower approach and their locked-down, security laden top floor proves this. The company is only focused on shareholder value while clients and employees suffer."

People You Work With 5 / 5 Support You Get 1 / 5 Person You Work For 2 / 5
Rewards You Receive 5 / 5 Company Culture 3 / 5 Work Setting 2 / 5
Growth Opportunities 1 / 5 Way You Work 2 / 5
AVP of Finance
Posted 10 months ago in Kaysville, UT

"Company is really good at doing the business that they know and have been serving for decades, but struggles with pushing innovation throughout the organization. New ideas and strategies are not typically embraced, though a lot of lip service is given to it. Business Strategy needs an overhaul. The company treats employees very fairly, actually better than fairly, and communicates regularly with employees."

Person You Work For 4 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5
Growth Opportunities 3 / 5 Support You Get 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 5 / 5
People You Work With 5 / 5 Company Culture 5 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 11 months ago in Kansas City, MO

"I worked for H&R Block since 2008. I only received a 50 cent raise the whole time. While I was there, went through 4 managers. Some even ended up as my co-workers. The people were fun to work with."

Person You Work For 4 / 5 Work Setting 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 2 / 5
Way You Work 5 / 5 Support You Get 4 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5
Rewards You Receive 2 / 5 Company Culture 3 / 5
Tax Associate
Posted 11 months ago in Sun Prairie, WI

"There is a reason this company has employees that have been there more than twenty years or less than five. This is a good place to get some training for a better job elsewhere."

People You Work With 3 / 5 Company Culture 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 1 / 5
Work Setting 3 / 5 Support You Get 3 / 5 Rewards You Receive 1 / 5
Person You Work For 5 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5
We noticed that your web browser is outdated!

Update your browser to have a more positive job search experience.

Upgrade My Browser

×