Company Menu

General Motors Reviews Browse General Motors Reviews by Job Title →

On average, employees at General Motors give their company a 4.1 rating out of 5.0 - which is 8% higher than the average rating for all companies on CareerBliss. The happiest General Motors employees are Industrial Engineers submitting an average rating of 5.0 and Interns with a rating of 4.9.

86
128
43
8
2
4.1
Average Rating
(based on 267 General Motors Review Ratings)
Company Culture 3.9
Growth Opportunities 3.7
People You Work With 4.4
Person You Work For 4.2
Rewards You Receive 3.9
Support You Get 4.1
Way You Work 4.2
Work Setting 4.1
"I have worked at GM for over 2 years now. The work environment is fantastic . There is a lot of opportunity to learn and grow as a developer. Additionally, there are really smart and friendly people to work with. But on the individual basis there is a lot of stiff competition to get a promotion."
Posted 8 months ago in Detroit, MI

473 General Motors Company Reviews and Ratings Browse General Motors Reviews by Job Title →

IT Business Analyst
Posted last week in Westport, IN

"I've worked for GM for 2 years."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Support You Get 4 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5
Company Culture 5 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Software Developer
Posted this month in Chandler, AZ

"Great work environment for their IT transformation. They have a lot of potential, and a high expectation to live up to. Very similar to a startup, but with a lot of capital to invest into itself."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5
Company Culture 4 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5
Powertrain Designer
Posted last month in Warren, MI

"This was a very interesting position, I was part of a team involved with advanced vehicle design of heavy duty trucks using gas and diesel powered powertrains. And also working on European small car and SUV with manual trans."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 4 / 5
Company Culture 5 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted last month in Detroit, MI

"I worked for GM since 2007. Its good. Thanks for the great opportunity to work in huge systems. Good Management team. Good roadmap."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 3 / 5 Work Setting 3 / 5
Support You Get 4 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5
Company Culture 4 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5

Average General Motors Ratings in the Past 4 Years

Year Salary
2010 $4
2011 $4
2012 $4
2013 $3
Anonymous Employee
Posted 2 months ago in Pontiac, MI

"I have quite a few years in with General Motors Company, with increasing responsibilities."

Person You Work For 4 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 2 / 5
Company Culture 5 / 5 Way You Work 3 / 5
IT Intern
Posted 3 months ago in Detroit, MI

"Awesome place to work as an intern. Great people, great environment."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 4 / 5
Company Culture 5 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 5 months ago in Chandler, AZ

"Still the good 'ole boys club. Gotta play the corporate game to get ahead. Expect to be working on the same team and same software until you get tired of asking for different challenges and start to look elsewhere. Predominantly Indian workforce, which if you're not familiar with their tendencies can be quite a culture shock."

Person You Work For 4 / 5 People You Work With 3 / 5 Work Setting 3 / 5
Support You Get 3 / 5 Rewards You Receive 2 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5
Company Culture 3 / 5 Way You Work 2 / 5
Senior Software Developer
Posted 6 months ago in Austin, TX

"GM is a great place to work. The only downside is the tech stack moves slowly."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Support You Get 4 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 4 / 5
Company Culture 4 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5
Validation Engineer
Posted 6 months ago in Warren, MI

"Fantastic work and location. Wish that I could be hired in direct. Highly recommended."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 2 / 5 Growth Opportunities 2 / 5
Company Culture 4 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 6 months ago in Warren, MI

"The service desk has a nice family atmosphere to it and that is something I enjoy very much. I believe and so does the company, that the service desk is just a stepping stone towards something better in our careers. I wouldn't have changed a thing about my experience here."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5
Company Culture 5 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Design Release Engineer
Posted 7 months ago in Warren, MI

"I have worked for General Motors for nearly 4 years, I was satisfied with my job for about a year, then started requesting transfers but have been denied since. I originally enjoyed the learning of the job, then my job grew to be the Spackle of the group that filled all the gaps everyone else left, because of that my manager has had a hard time letting me move to another position."

Person You Work For 4 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Work Setting 1 / 5
Support You Get 3 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 2 / 5
Company Culture 2 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 7 months ago in Warren, MI

"Misrepresented employment. Got cold-called by GM, they asked me if I'd be interested. Applied and got job. Got along great with my boss.One week later, something wasn't going good on some other project. They pulled a developer off that project, and told me I'd be reporting to a different manager and not even doing development anymore! I'd be doing more product configuration than development. I explained to my old manager, new manager, upper management, HR, and nobody cared."

Person You Work For 3 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Support You Get 2 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5
Company Culture 3 / 5 Way You Work 1 / 5
Application Developer
Posted 7 months ago in Detroit, MI

"I have worked at GM for over 2 years now. The work environment is fantastic . There is a lot of opportunity to learn and grow as a developer. Additionally, there are really smart and friendly people to work with. But on the individual basis there is a lot of stiff competition to get a promotion."

Person You Work For 4 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5
Support You Get 4 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5
Company Culture 4 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 7 months ago in Oshawa, ON

"Good place to work - would recommend them."

Person You Work For 4 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5
Support You Get 4 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 4 / 5
Company Culture 5 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 8 months ago in Torrance, CA

"I've work for General Motors for 8 years. It has good benefits, especially health insurance."

Person You Work For 4 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5
Support You Get 4 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 4 / 5
Company Culture 4 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5
We noticed that your web browser is outdated!

Update your browser to have a more positive job search experience.

Upgrade My Browser

×