Company Menu

General Motors Reviews Browse General Motors Reviews by Job Title →

On average, employees at General Motors give their company a 4.0 rating out of 5.0 - which is 5% higher than the average rating for all companies on CareerBliss. The happiest General Motors employees are Account Representatives submitting an average rating of 5.0 and Equipment Services Project Managers with a rating of 4.9.

108
158
59
8
3
4.0
Average Rating
(based on 336 General Motors Review Ratings)
Company Culture
3.9
Growth Opportunities
3.7
People You Work With
4.4
Person You Work For
4.2
Rewards You Receive
3.9
Support You Get
4.1
Way You Work
4.2
Work Setting
4.1
"GM is a great company, and is trying to do great things in pulling work back in house that has been outsourced for literally decades. The dispersed workforce and some teams spread across all four sites. (Atlanta, Phoenix, Detroit, Austin) All are making the job more difficult than it needs to be. The overwhelming presence of ex-Dell and ex-HP employees in Austin ostracizes a lot of good people and good input - even that of ex-Dell and ex-HP people in other sites. Overall, though, a good gig."
Posted about a year ago in Roswell, GA
Advertisement

595 General Motors Company Reviews and Ratings Browse General Motors Reviews by Job Title →

Anonymous Employee
Posted 2 months ago in Warren, MI

"I currently work here."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Work Setting 2 / 5
Support You Get 2 / 5 Rewards You Receive 2 / 5 Growth Opportunities 2 / 5
Company Culture 3 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5
Software Developer
Posted 3 months ago in Austin, TX

"Would not recommend. A decent job, but very slow and bureaucratic."

Person You Work For 3 / 5 People You Work With 2 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 2 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5
Company Culture 3 / 5 Way You Work 2 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 3 months ago

"I've been working for GM as a supplier and as an employee for 14 years. This is a great company to work for. My team is always looking for ways to improve user experience and provide automation for more efficient processes."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5
Company Culture 5 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 4 months ago in Lordstown, OH

"The recent turn around by GM in regards to product quality & styling, performance, labor relations, and financial performance has truly been amazing. It involved relentless hard work of which I am proud of my contributions."

Person You Work For 4 / 5 People You Work With 3 / 5 Work Setting 1 / 5
Support You Get 3 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5
Company Culture 1 / 5 Way You Work 2 / 5

Average General Motors Ratings in the Past 4 Years

Year Salary
2010 $4
2011 $4
2012 $3
2013 $3
IT Business Analyst
Posted 4 months ago in Westport, IN

"I've worked for GM for 2 years."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Support You Get 4 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5
Company Culture 5 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Software Developer
Posted 4 months ago in Chandler, AZ

"Great work environment for their IT transformation. They have a lot of potential, and a high expectation to live up to. Very similar to a startup, but with a lot of capital to invest into itself."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5
Company Culture 4 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5
Powertrain Designer
Posted 5 months ago in Warren, MI

"This was a very interesting position, I was part of a team involved with advanced vehicle design of heavy duty trucks using gas and diesel powered powertrains. And also working on European small car and SUV with manual trans."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 4 / 5
Company Culture 5 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 5 months ago in Detroit, MI

"I worked for GM since 2007. Its good. Thanks for the great opportunity to work in huge systems. Good Management team. Good roadmap."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 3 / 5 Work Setting 3 / 5
Support You Get 4 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5
Company Culture 4 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 6 months ago in Pontiac, MI

"I have quite a few years in with General Motors Company, with increasing responsibilities."

Person You Work For 4 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 2 / 5
Company Culture 5 / 5 Way You Work 3 / 5
IT Intern
Posted 7 months ago in Detroit, MI

"Awesome place to work as an intern. Great people, great environment."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 4 / 5
Company Culture 5 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 9 months ago in Chandler, AZ

"Still the good 'ole boys club. Gotta play the corporate game to get ahead. Expect to be working on the same team and same software until you get tired of asking for different challenges and start to look elsewhere. Predominantly Indian workforce, which if you're not familiar with their tendencies can be quite a culture shock."

Person You Work For 4 / 5 People You Work With 3 / 5 Work Setting 3 / 5
Support You Get 3 / 5 Rewards You Receive 2 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5
Company Culture 3 / 5 Way You Work 2 / 5
Senior Software Developer
Posted 10 months ago in Austin, TX

"GM is a great place to work. The only downside is the tech stack moves slowly."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Support You Get 4 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 4 / 5
Company Culture 4 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5
Validation Engineer
Posted 10 months ago in Warren, MI

"Fantastic work and location. Wish that I could be hired in direct. Highly recommended."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 2 / 5 Growth Opportunities 2 / 5
Company Culture 4 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 10 months ago in Warren, MI

"The service desk has a nice family atmosphere to it and that is something I enjoy very much. I believe and so does the company, that the service desk is just a stepping stone towards something better in our careers. I wouldn't have changed a thing about my experience here."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5
Company Culture 5 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Design Release Engineer
Posted 11 months ago in Warren, MI

"I have worked for General Motors for nearly 4 years, I was satisfied with my job for about a year, then started requesting transfers but have been denied since. I originally enjoyed the learning of the job, then my job grew to be the Spackle of the group that filled all the gaps everyone else left, because of that my manager has had a hard time letting me move to another position."

Person You Work For 4 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Work Setting 1 / 5
Support You Get 3 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 2 / 5
Company Culture 2 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5
We noticed that your web browser is outdated!

Update your browser to have a more positive job search experience.

Upgrade My Browser

×