Company Menu
2
0
4
1
0
3.5
Average Rating
(based on 7 Federal Signal Review Ratings)
Company Culture 3.0
Growth Opportunities 2.8
People You Work With 4.0
Person You Work For 4.1
Rewards You Receive 3.7
Support You Get 3.3
Way You Work 3.9
Work Setting 3.3

10 Federal Signal Company Reviews and Ratings


Anonymous Employee
Posted last month in Oak Brook, IL

"I have worked at Federal Signal for nearly 13 years. Unfortunately, the organization has declined over time with a high volume of turnover at the executive level. With multiple reorganization efforts in the past 4-5 years, the organizational chart has flattened out, limiting growth opportunities to employees looking to move up. Leadership is marginal at best at the group level, hampering business performance."

Work Setting 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 1 / 5 Way You Work 3 / 5
Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 People You Work With 3 / 5 Support You Get 2 / 5
Person You Work For 2 / 5 Company Culture 2 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 4 months ago in Kensington, MD

"Working here is a great opportunity right out of college to get your feet wet or to stay with an average company which has great job security for the next 30+ years of your life."

Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5 Work Setting 2 / 5
People You Work With 4 / 5 Support You Get 4 / 5 Company Culture 2 / 5
Person You Work For 5 / 5 Way You Work 3 / 5

Company-Industry Rating Comparison

3.5
Federal Signal (10)

4.8 Highest Rated in this Industry is GM Powertrain (7)
2.6 Lowest Rated in this Industry is PACCAR (10)
3.7 Average of All Companies in this Industry (5,204)
Anonymous Employee
Posted 5 months ago in Kensington, MD

"A good place to start your career out of college however it can take a while to advance. Not a great atmosphere for camaraderie among your peers as it is not encouraged. The pay is average however there is great job security."

Way You Work 4 / 5 Support You Get 3 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5
Work Setting 2 / 5 Company Culture 3 / 5 Person You Work For 5 / 5
Growth Opportunities 2 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5
Regional Sales Manager
Posted last year in University Park, IL

"I have a great mentor in my boss, he is supportive yet clear."

What do you like about working at Federal Signal?

"I have a great work environment, great boss, enjoying working with customers."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Make sure that you can work independantly and be punctual."

What don't you like about working at Federal Signal?

"Customer budgets are weak and the sales/decision cycle time is very long. Usually about 12 to 18 months."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Tailor product improvements based on our customer requests and comments."

People You Work With 4 / 5 Company Culture 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 4 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Person You Work For 5 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5
Way You Work 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 5 / 5

Average Federal Signal Ratings in the Past 2 Years

Year Salary
2011 $4
2012 $3
Program Manager
Posted 2 years ago in Irvine, CA

What do you like about working at Federal Signal?

"The project staff and client were great to work with."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Just be mindful of what is promised and get it in writing."

What don't you like about working at Federal Signal?

"There wasn't any support from upper management when it became necessary to have."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Be more involved in your projects; especially when they are one of your more profitable ones."

Work Setting 4 / 5 Company Culture 2 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5
Way You Work 4 / 5 Support You Get 1 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5
Person You Work For 2 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5
Senior Electrical Engineer
Posted 3 years ago in Ocala, FL
Support You Get 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 2 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5
Person You Work For 5 / 5 Way You Work 3.5 / 5 Company Culture 3 / 5
Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 Work Setting 3 / 5
Project Lead
Posted 3 years ago
People You Work With 5 / 5 Person You Work For 5 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Support You Get 4.9 / 5 Company Culture 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4.7 / 5
Growth Opportunities 4.8 / 5 Way You Work 4.9 / 5
Mechanical Design Engineer
Posted 4 years ago in University Park, IL

"Federal Signal gave me my first job opportunity, and I am grateful. Their compensation was weak compared to my fellow graduates, but I understand that improved after the department manager was let go during my time there."

What do you like about working at Federal Signal?

"I liked the people I worked with and how hands-on the work was. Also, the flexibility my manager gave me by letting me work 9-80's. My manger was a great person to work for, and seemed generally interested in me and my personal life in a friendly way."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Be honest with the management. I never found a person there in the engineering department that didn't seem like they would understand any problems, and I enjoyed working with them. If you are looking for entry level employment, there are not a lot of 20+ year olds last I knew, so meeting people from work for social activities is a little awkward."

What don't you like about working at Federal Signal?

"I did not like the compensation. I was hired at 44k/year. I was the lowest salary of any of my college colleges. The department manager was responsible for this. He was laid off, and they hired an engineer with 1 year more experience than me for over 6k more than my salary."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Their management had fixed the greatest problem I had with the company. I enjoyed working there, and had I not found a job that was more in my desired field with a 20% raise, I would still be with the company."

Manufacturing Engineer
Posted 5 years ago in Mission Viejo, CA

"Scratchs the surface."

What do you like about working at Federal Signal?

"Excellent Colleague interaction."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Be patient. Very political. Be a 'Yes' person. Don't offer suggestions."

What don't you like about working at Federal Signal?

"Upper Management decisions. Sales force is only looking out for their own benefit at others expense, including customers."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"To expand the operation, not sell off profitable entities. To eliminate former Maytag employees. Reduce chiefs and let Indians do there job. Listen to the customers desires."

Regional Sales Manager
Posted 5 years ago in Los Angeles, CA

What do you like about working at Federal Signal?

"High Quality products"

What don't you like about working at Federal Signal?

"Poor manufacturing system"

What suggestions do you have for management?

"They need new products and new energy"

We noticed that your web browser is outdated!

Update your browser to have a more positive job search experience.

Upgrade My Browser

×