Company Menu

On average, employees at Capital One give their company a 3.9 rating out of 5.0 - which is 3% higher than the average rating for all companies on CareerBliss. The happiest Capital One employees are Senior Project Managers submitting an average rating of 4.5 and Collections Managers also with a rating of 4.5.

24
44
14
3
1
3.9
Average Rating
(based on 86 Capital One Review Ratings)
Company Culture
3.9
Growth Opportunities
3.5
People You Work With
4.3
Person You Work For
4.0
Rewards You Receive
3.8
Support You Get
3.9
Way You Work
4.0
Work Setting
4.0
"I've been working for Capital One for two years, good company overall, care about employees except for workplace settings. My department was acquired from HSBC, where we worked in a very nice building with telecommuting options. Capital One moved us to Schaumburg to a building with much lower standards. They tend to make abrupt decisions and move employees around at will. Plus - many intelligent people, good pay, a lot of opportunity to learn new things, useful experience."
Posted about a year ago in Rolling Meadows, IL
Advertisement

157 Capital One Company Reviews and Ratings Browse Capital One Reviews by Job Title →

Anonymous Employee
Posted 3 months ago in Hammond, LA

"I've worked for Capital One for 5 years +. They are great to work for; however, the tellers are under paid and over worked."

Person You Work For 4 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5
Support You Get 3 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5
Company Culture 3 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5
Director
Posted 4 months ago in Wilmington, DE

"Brilliant leadership; continues to see and pursue the future of the industry. People and processes are though are rigid, and humiliating. Three reasons - the industry is old/stable, the company is incestuous and they implemented forced ranking. To succeed, work in Richmond and focus on your manager and management piers. Drink the Kool Aid or stay away."

Person You Work For 1 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5
Support You Get 4 / 5 Rewards You Receive 2 / 5 Growth Opportunities 1 / 5
Company Culture 3 / 5 Way You Work 1 / 5

Company-Industry Rating Comparison

3.9
Capital One (157)

4.6 Highest Rated in this Industry is Home Finance of America (16)
2.7 Lowest Rated in this Industry is OneMain Financial (8)
3.7 Average of All Companies in this Industry (10,615)
Java Developer
Posted 4 months ago in Richmond, VA

"Its a nice place to work."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5
Support You Get 4 / 5 Rewards You Receive 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 4 / 5
Company Culture 4 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 4 months ago in Plano, TX

"Lot of politics and favoritism."

Person You Work For 4 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5
Support You Get 2 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 2 / 5
Company Culture 4 / 5 Way You Work 3 / 5

Average Capital One Ratings in the Past 3 Years

Year Salary
2011 $3
2012 $4
2013 $3
Anonymous Employee
Posted 5 months ago in Damascus, MD
Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5
Company Culture 5 / 5 Way You Work 3 / 5
Mortgage Collections Specialist
Posted 5 months ago in Plano, TX

"I am a recent new hire with Capital One. I initially started working with the organization in November of 2012. It was then that I learned what a great organization it is. Capital One invests in its employees. They are concerned about the well being of their employees. They keep us engaged. Capital One is an organization with good ethics. They pride themselves on "doing the right thing." I am blessed to be a part of such a great organization."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5
Company Culture 4 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 6 months ago in Melville, NY
Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5
Company Culture 5 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 7 months ago in Salinas, CA

"Great company to work for. Takes good care of their employees."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5
Company Culture 5 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 10 months ago in San Angelo, TX

"Although the business decision to internalize their positions is disappointing, the company has provided me with excellent education, knowledge, and experiences while working for them."

Person You Work For 4 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5
Support You Get 3 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5
Company Culture 4 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Project Manager
Posted 10 months ago in Glen Allen, VA

"I have worked for Capital One for almost five years and have had a wonderful experience in career progression, work/life balance and mentoring from management. My time here has improved my confidence level in my job skills and given me opportunities to improve and gain education in my field."

Person You Work For 4 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5
Company Culture 5 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 11 months ago in Plano, TX

"I found Capital One a very attractive place to work. My only difficulty was with my direct level manager. Overall Capital One is an excellent place to work and offers great opportunities to try different job roles and work on multiple projects."

Person You Work For 1 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Work Setting 3 / 5
Support You Get 3 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 4 / 5
Company Culture 4 / 5 Way You Work 2 / 5
Senior .NET Developer
Posted last year in Richmond, VA

"I like working here and being part of a good team."

Person You Work For 4 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Support You Get 4 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5
Company Culture 4 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Manager
Posted last year in Rolling Meadows, IL

"I've been working for Capital One for two years, good company overall, care about employees except for workplace settings. My department was acquired from HSBC, where we worked in a very nice building with telecommuting options. Capital One moved us to Schaumburg to a building with much lower standards. They tend to make abrupt decisions and move employees around at will. Plus - many intelligent people, good pay, a lot of opportunity to learn new things, useful experience."

Person You Work For 3 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Work Setting 2 / 5
Support You Get 3 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5
Company Culture 4 / 5 Way You Work 3 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted last year

"I believe Capital One Financial corporation requires too much from their tellers for the compensation that they receive. The artificial customer service that we are required to display in every customer interaction is stressful, especially when dealing with difficult customers. The company randomly cut my hours recently, because I am a part time worker and I do not have a set schedule. Now I need to find a second job to make up for the pay that I lost due to this."

Person You Work For 1 / 5 People You Work With 3 / 5 Work Setting 1 / 5
Support You Get 1 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 1 / 5
Company Culture 1 / 5 Way You Work 1 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted last year in McLean, VA

"Great people who are dedicated to doing the right thing although we have a tendency to over think."

Person You Work For 4 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5
Support You Get 3 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 4 / 5
Company Culture 4 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5
We noticed that your web browser is outdated!

Update your browser to have a more positive job search experience.

Upgrade My Browser

×