Company Menu

Capital One Reviews

On average, employees at Capital One give their company a 3.9 rating out of 5.0 - which is 3% higher than the average rating for all companies on CareerBliss. The happiest Capital One employees are Collections Managers submitting an average rating of 4.5 and Senior Project Managers also with a rating of 4.5. Browse Capital One Reviews by Job Title →

21
39
13
3
1
3.9
Average Rating
(based on 77 Capital One Review Ratings)
Company Culture 3.9
Growth Opportunities 3.5
People You Work With 4.3
Person You Work For 3.9
Rewards You Receive 3.8
Support You Get 3.8
Way You Work 4.1
Work Setting 4.0
Posted 7 months ago in Rolling Meadows, IL

"I've been working for Capital One for two years, good company overall, care about employees except for workplace settings. My department was acquired from HSBC, where we worked in a very nice building with telecommuting options. Capital One moved us to Schaumburg to a building with much lower standards. They tend to make abrupt decisions and move employees around at will. Plus - many intelligent people, good pay, a lot of opportunity to learn new things, useful experience."

146 Capital One Company Reviews and Ratings

Anonymous Employee
Posted last month in Salinas, CA

"Great company to work for. Takes good care of their employees."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5
Company Culture 5 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 4 months ago in San Angelo, TX

"Although the business decision to internalize their positions is disappointing, the company has provided me with excellent education, knowledge, and experiences while working for them."

Person You Work For 4 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5
Support You Get 3 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5
Company Culture 4 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5

Company-Industry Rating Comparison

3.9
Capital One (146)

4.6 Highest Rated in this Industry is Home Finance of America (16)
2.7 Lowest Rated in this Industry is OneMain Financial (8)
3.7 Average of All Companies in this Industry (8,765)
Project Manager
Posted 4 months ago in Glen Allen, VA

"I have worked for Capital One for almost five years and have had a wonderful experience in career progression, work/life balance and mentoring from management. My time here has improved my confidence level in my job skills and given me opportunities to improve and gain education in my field."

Person You Work For 4 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5
Company Culture 5 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 5 months ago in Plano, TX

"I found Capital One a very attractive place to work. My only difficulty was with my direct level manager. Overall Capital One is an excellent place to work and offers great opportunities to try different job roles and work on multiple projects."

Person You Work For 1 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Work Setting 3 / 5
Support You Get 3 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 4 / 5
Company Culture 4 / 5 Way You Work 2 / 5

Average Capital One Ratings in the Past 3 Years

Year Salary
2011 $3
2012 $4
2013 $3
Senior .NET Developer
Posted 6 months ago in Richmond, VA

"I like working here and being part of a good team."

Person You Work For 4 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Support You Get 4 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5
Company Culture 4 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Manager
Posted 6 months ago in Rolling Meadows, IL

"I've been working for Capital One for two years, good company overall, care about employees except for workplace settings. My department was acquired from HSBC, where we worked in a very nice building with telecommuting options. Capital One moved us to Schaumburg to a building with much lower standards. They tend to make abrupt decisions and move employees around at will. Plus - many intelligent people, good pay, a lot of opportunity to learn new things, useful experience."

Person You Work For 3 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Work Setting 2 / 5
Support You Get 3 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5
Company Culture 4 / 5 Way You Work 3 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 7 months ago

"I believe Capital One Financial corporation requires too much from their tellers for the compensation that they receive. The artificial customer service that we are required to display in every customer interaction is stressful, especially when dealing with difficult customers. The company randomly cut my hours recently, because I am a part time worker and I do not have a set schedule. Now I need to find a second job to make up for the pay that I lost due to this."

Person You Work For 1 / 5 People You Work With 3 / 5 Work Setting 1 / 5
Support You Get 1 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 1 / 5
Company Culture 1 / 5 Way You Work 1 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 7 months ago in McLean, VA

"Great people who are dedicated to doing the right thing although we have a tendency to over think."

Person You Work For 4 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5
Support You Get 3 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 4 / 5
Company Culture 4 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5
J2EE Developer
Posted 7 months ago in Plano, TX

"I have worked for this company for a while. It's a good working environment but not great."

Person You Work For 4 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5
Support You Get 4 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 4 / 5
Company Culture 4 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 7 months ago in Wilmington, DE

"Good place to work... modern tool sets. Progressive bank and fun place to work. The agile culture makes work less stressful."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5
Company Culture 5 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 8 months ago in Irving, TX
Person You Work For 3 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5
Support You Get 4 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 4 / 5
Company Culture 4 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 8 months ago in Midlothian, VA

"Capital One is a wonderful company and I am incredibly thankful for the opportunity I was provided."

Person You Work For 4 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5
Support You Get 4 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5
Company Culture 5 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 9 months ago in Mettawa, IL

"The work environment is good and hierarchy is good to work. People are friendly and helpful."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Support You Get 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5
Company Culture 5 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Equipment Services Project Manager
Posted 10 months ago in Tigard, OR

"Capital One is a great company. Unfortunately, the company strategy is to have a co-located Project Management team. Because of the recent strategy change my job has been eliminated."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5
Support You Get 4 / 5 Rewards You Receive 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 2 / 5
Company Culture 5 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5
Bank Teller
Posted 10 months ago in Oakdale, LA

"I have worked for Capital One. It is a good company to work for. However, the compensation that you get is not enough for the type of work that you do and what it consists of. In my opinion, I think that some workers are underpaid. In addition to this, there is no room for advancement as this is one of the things that I look for in a job."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Work Setting 3 / 5
Support You Get 3 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5
Company Culture 4 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
We noticed that your web browser is outdated!

Update your browser to have a more positive job search experience.

Upgrade My Browser

×