Brookdale Senior Living
2.8 (20)
Industry: Nursing and Residential Care - HQ: Brentwood, TN

Brookdale Senior Living Reviews

See all Brookdale Senior Living reviews »
2
4
3
5
3
2.8
Average Rating
(based on 17 Brookdale Senior Living Review Ratings)
Company Culture 2.8
Growth Opportunities 2.4
People You Work With 3.1
Person You Work For 2.6
Rewards You Receive 2.4
Support You Get 2.6
Way You Work 3.4
Work Setting 3.2
Brookdale Senior Living JobsView All »

20 Brookdale Senior Living Company Reviews and Ratings


Anonymous Employee
Posted 3 months ago in Cincinnati, OH

"Unfortunately, the residents suffer due to poor staffing, poor scheduling, poor management, poor training. Makes for an oppressive environment on a daily basis. Census is more important than resident satisfaction."

Work Setting 3 / 5 Person You Work For 1 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5
Company Culture 2 / 5 Rewards You Receive 2 / 5 People You Work With 3 / 5
Support You Get 3 / 5 Way You Work 3 / 5

Company-Industry Rating Comparison

2.8
Brookdale Senior Living (20)

4.0 Highest Rated in this Industry is Ogilvy CommonHealth (9)
2.8 Lowest Rated in this Industry is Brookdale Senior Living (20)
3.2 Average of All Companies in this Industry (403)
Server
Posted 7 months ago in Overland Park, KS

"I have only recently started working for Brookdale place, but it has been a very good experience for me. They are willing to work with their employees on any family or medical situations. I honestly couldn't ask for a better employer to work for to get back on my feet after the military."

Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 4 / 5
Way You Work 5 / 5 Company Culture 5 / 5 Person You Work For 4 / 5
People You Work With 4 / 5 Support You Get 3 / 5

Average Brookdale Senior Living Ratings in the Past 3 Years

Year Salary
2011 $3
2012 $2
2013 $2
Director of Sales and Marketing
Posted 9 months ago in Denver, CO

"I worked for Brookdale Senior Living for two and a half years. They are committed to providing quality care to the seniors they serve. In regard to treatment of employees, there are areas in which the company can improve. Brookdale would be an ideal employer if they developed existing talent and promoted well deserving associates. Current mid-level management has changed the corporate culture which makes the company less desirable."

Growth Opportunities 2 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5 Company Culture 4 / 5
People You Work With 4 / 5 Support You Get 4 / 5 Person You Work For 3 / 5
Way You Work 3 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5
Helper
Posted last year in Dallas, TX

"I would never recommend anyone to work here or to put family here."

What do you like about working at Brookdale Senior Living?

"I liked the residents and some of the people I worked with."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"If you are looking to be overworked and underpaid, go for it. If you care about the elderly and love working with them don't work here. They only care about money, not you or the residents!! Sad but true."

What don't you like about working at Brookdale Senior Living?

"I didn't like the rude co-workers, over-working people, and crappy pay. Management is not all that good either. The company only cares about money."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"You all need to look at these reviews and take some notes. This has been going on for too long."

Company Culture 1 / 5 Work Setting 2 / 5 Rewards You Receive 1 / 5
Growth Opportunities 4 / 5 Person You Work For 1 / 5 People You Work With 1 / 5
Support You Get 1 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Nurse
Posted last year in Largo, FL

What do you like about working at Brookdale Senior Living?

"We are all like family. That would be residents and team members. For the most part, our goals are ALL to improve the quality of life and care of our residents."

What don't you like about working at Brookdale Senior Living?

"Usually, it is situational. We have a GREAT company and a great team!"

Work Setting 5 / 5 Person You Work For 5 / 5 Company Culture 5 / 5
People You Work With 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 2 / 5 Rewards You Receive 5 / 5
Way You Work 5 / 5 Support You Get 4 / 5
Cook
Posted last year in Ormond Beach, FL

"I was overworked, denied benefits, understaffed, insulted, & degraded."

What do you like about working at Brookdale Senior Living?

"I liked the residents who needed to be taken care of daily."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Run, don't walk away, and find a real company to work for."

What don't you like about working at Brookdale Senior Living?

"I dislike trying to feed residents who are paying upwards of $5000.00 a month on $5.50 a day for breakfast, lunch, & dinner."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Try and learn how to be a manager if you are going to be a manager over experienced managers, instead of being afraid of their experience & knowledge of their own positions."

Person You Work For 1 / 5 Rewards You Receive 1 / 5 Work Setting 3 / 5
Growth Opportunities 1 / 5 Way You Work 1 / 5 Support You Get 1 / 5
Company Culture 1 / 5 People You Work With 1 / 5
Dietary Director
Posted last year in Ormond Beach, FL

"I was a manager on salary and forced to work 20-30 hours a week for free."

What do you like about working at Brookdale Senior Living?

"The residents were the only thing that made it worthwhile."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Run, don't walk away. You will shortly hate your job with this horrible company."

What don't you like about working at Brookdale Senior Living?

"I disliked micromanaging, inexperienced obnoxious insulting managers, and corporate stuffed shirts who tried to squeeze every penny out of the property at the expense of the residents."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Learn how to be a real manager. Try and learn to treat people with respect."

Support You Get 1 / 5 Person You Work For 1 / 5 Growth Opportunities 1 / 5
Company Culture 1 / 5 Work Setting 2 / 5 Way You Work 1 / 5
Rewards You Receive 1 / 5 People You Work With 2 / 5
Information Systems Security Administrator
Posted last year in Milwaukee, WI

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Show your dedication to be part of a great organization and proceed with a positive attitude."

What don't you like about working at Brookdale Senior Living?

"There was nothing that I did not like about working for this company. The experience that I had gained was invaluable."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 Company Culture 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5
Support You Get 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Director of Resident Services
Posted this month in Arlington, TX

"It's been a learning experience."

What do you like about working at Brookdale Senior Living?

"I learned a lot. I like the personal growth and coming up with solutions when they don't seem possible."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Check with other companies first, as this one seems to be the lowest paying."

What don't you like about working at Brookdale Senior Living?

"The supervisor is very power hungry and is not physically at work very much."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"I would suggest closer monitoring of their executive directors, as some of them seem to abuse their powers."

Support You Get 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 1 / 5 Company Culture 3 / 5
Rewards You Receive 2 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5 Person You Work For 2 / 5
Way You Work 2 / 5 People You Work With 3 / 5
Front Desk Receptionist
Posted 2 years ago in Fresno, CA

"My experience with Brookdale is bad. I am looking elsewhere right now."

What do you like about working at Brookdale Senior Living?

"I like the residents and my fellow co-workers (not in management), and the actual job that when allowed to do it, I love it."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Don't work for this company. I absolutely would not be working here now if I could find another job, but the market is tough right now. Many of us stay in this corporation strictly out of desperation, not loyalty. That is the general opinion of most of my co-workers."

What don't you like about working at Brookdale Senior Living?

"I don't like the arrogance and unwillingness of the corporation to listen to its employees. They appear to operate in fear and intimidation to keep employees from talking to the administration to express any and all concerns. It's a very hostile work environment, always having to watch your back!"

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Follow the supposed foundation stones for company. If the upper management in any one of the many buildings they owned would do the work of the average worker, they may treat their employees better. The management staff is quite arrogant and out of touch with the working class."

People You Work With 4 / 5 Support You Get 1 / 5 Company Culture 1 / 5
Growth Opportunities 1 / 5 Way You Work 3 / 5 Person You Work For 1 / 5
Work Setting 1 / 5 Rewards You Receive 1 / 5
Licensed Practical Nurse
Posted 2 years ago in Tucson, AZ

What do you like about working at Brookdale Senior Living?

"I liked the residents, and knowing I was making life better for them."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Prepare yourself to be just a warm body. Watch your back. Management only cares about themselves."

What don't you like about working at Brookdale Senior Living?

"Management does not want to hear about other employees harassing each other. Managers failed to report abuse to the state."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Listen to the employees and take corporate out of the small day-to-day operations."

Person You Work For 2 / 5 Growth Opportunities 1 / 5 People You Work With 1 / 5
Way You Work 3 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Support You Get 1 / 5
Company Culture 2 / 5 Work Setting 1 / 5
Caregiver
Posted 2 years ago in Minnesota Lake, MN

"Underappreciated, overworked, and way UNDERPAID."

What do you like about working at Brookdale Senior Living?

"I like the residents. I love working with them. They are the reason why I come into work, knowing that they depend on me to help them with everyday tasks/life. It's what I love to do."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Don't... don't waste your time. You can find a better job. JUST know what you're in for, cause it doesn't pay what you think it would. In fact it's much much lower."

What don't you like about working at Brookdale Senior Living?

"I dislike EVERYTHING. To be point blank, this company does nothing but 'drive people to drink'. I've been with this company for over 5 years. I worked in many areas of the building and am currently a 'med passer'. I've seen things I never want to see, and people get away with it. The ED has done nothing but make the atmosphere in this building cave. Everyone is on pins and needles. People are getting trained and quitting 1-2 weeks after. It's a hard job, and our pay doesn't even come close to the amount of work we do. There is 1 aid for 15 or more residents. Do the math in your head. This company is sickening. There are no free meals, not even on holidays, and a raise that could make someone cry (For all the work you do as an associate, med tech, nurse, etc., you would think you would be getting a little more than 17 - 20 CENTS RAISE ... PER YEAR!) -- sometimes no raises. I'm sorry, but this company is just sad. Everyone in our building feels under appreciated, and most are looking for new jobs."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"TREAT YOUR EMPLOYEES BETTER. Respect them! 17-20 cent raises... or less in some IS JUST PATHETIC! Understand what we do in a day, knowing how hard it is -- we are human beings too! I love what I do but feeling under-appreciated and underpaid is not a good feeling to come to work to EVERY DAY!"

Company Culture 2 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5 People You Work With 3 / 5
Support You Get 1 / 5 Work Setting 2 / 5 Rewards You Receive 1 / 5
Person You Work For 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3 / 5
Certified Nursing Assistant
Posted 2 years ago in Clearwater, FL

What do you like about working at Brookdale Senior Living?

"There is nothing at the moment -- none that I can think of."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Make sure you have good time management skills to get the job done."

What don't you like about working at Brookdale Senior Living?

"There is too much stress -- having too many things to do with not a lot of time."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"I am not sure about what I would do differently."

Rewards You Receive 1 / 5 Way You Work 3 / 5 Company Culture 1 / 5
Support You Get 3 / 5 Person You Work For 3 / 5 Work Setting 3 / 5
Growth Opportunities 1 / 5 People You Work With 3 / 5
Senior Vice President
Posted 2 years ago in Chicago, IL
Support You Get 4 / 5 Company Culture 4.7 / 5 Work Setting 4.1 / 5
People You Work With 4.8 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4.8 / 5 Growth Opportunities 4.8 / 5
Way You Work 4.7 / 5
Medical Assistant
Posted 2 years ago in Waco, TX

What do you like about working at Brookdale Senior Living?

"Medical and dental and vision was good, and free lunch sometimes."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"I would not recommend anyone work for this company. It is not a nice place."

What don't you like about working at Brookdale Senior Living?

"They don't care about the workers or the residents, just the money they can bring in."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Do not just say you put residents first. Put them first."

Growth Opportunities 1 / 5 Way You Work 2 / 5 Work Setting 1 / 5
Person You Work For 1 / 5 Company Culture 1 / 5 People You Work With 1 / 5
Support You Get 1 / 5 Rewards You Receive 1 / 5
We noticed that your web browser is outdated!

Update your browser to have a more positive job search experience.

Upgrade My Browser

×