Company Menu

Best Western Reviews

On average, employees at Best Western give their company a 3.6 rating out of 5.0 - which is 5% lower than the average rating for all companies on CareerBliss. The happiest Best Western employees are Front Desk Clerks submitting an average rating of 3.9 and General Managers with a rating of 3.8. Browse Best Western Reviews by Job Title →

6
10
9
4
0
3.6
Average Rating
(based on 29 Best Western Review Ratings)
Company Culture 3.4
Growth Opportunities 2.8
People You Work With 4.1
Person You Work For 4.0
Rewards You Receive 3.2
Support You Get 3.6
Way You Work 4.1
Work Setting 3.8

47 Best Western Company Reviews and Ratings


Anonymous Employee
Posted 3 months ago in Phoenix, AZ

"My previous leader at Best Western provided me with great opportunities to grow and learn."

Person You Work For 4 / 5 Work Setting 3 / 5 People You Work With 3 / 5
Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 4 / 5 Way You Work 3 / 5
Support You Get 4 / 5 Company Culture 3 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 6 months ago in Dallas, TX

"It was a fun place to work at. I liked management and my coworkers. I didnt like the type of people who were guests, mostly troublemakers."

People You Work With 5 / 5 Person You Work For 5 / 5 Work Setting 1 / 5
Way You Work 4 / 5 Company Culture 2 / 5 Growth Opportunities 2 / 5
Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Support You Get 3 / 5

Company-Industry Rating Comparison

3.6
Best Western (47)

4.6 Highest Rated in this Industry is La Quinta Inns & Suites (12)
3.1 Lowest Rated in this Industry is Diamond Resorts International (12)
3.7 Average of All Companies in this Industry (1,373)
Anonymous Employee
Posted 8 months ago in Phoenix, AZ

"Poor place to work due to the limitation and commitment of management."

Way You Work 2 / 5 Growth Opportunities 2 / 5 Person You Work For 2 / 5
People You Work With 3 / 5 Support You Get 2 / 5 Company Culture 1 / 5
Work Setting 2 / 5 Rewards You Receive 2 / 5
Front Desk Agent
Posted last year in Texarkana, AR

"I have developed the ability to build rapport with new people quickly."

What do you like about working at Best Western?

"I really enjoyed meeting new people and fixing any problems that arise."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"My only advice would be to show your personality and be as open as possible to let your character shine through."

What don't you like about working at Best Western?

"I could not get enough hours I needed to be financially secure."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"I would suggest the management to not settle for just getting by."

Company Culture 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 1 / 5 Support You Get 5 / 5
People You Work With 4 / 5 Person You Work For 4 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Way You Work 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 2 / 5

Average Best Western Ratings in the Past 2 Years

Year Salary
2011 $3
2012 $3
Night Auditor
Posted 2 years ago in Ruidoso Downs, NM

What do you like about working at Best Western?

"I like pressure and I like feeling that I am contributing something necessary and valuable. But here it's more stressful because my contributions don't make up the slack for everybody else (so it's falling apart) - and because doing more means my coworkers do less."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Ask the employees how the owners and managers treat them. It would also be nice to ask the workers how they feel about each other (and see how much they'll tell you). Hint: if it's anything other than a somewhat sincere he's good, then it's probably a toxic work environment."

What don't you like about working at Best Western?

"As a whole, the inconsistency between hotels, lack of rational standards and effective enforcement, and lack of watching over owners and managers to make sure they are treating their employees legally (they're not). At my hotel, my coworkers make things unreasonably difficult. They are lazy, gossip-y, have no sense of accountability or responsibility, and the only changes they will make are the ones that mean they have to work even less. We have such a high turnover rate, I have 3rd-place seniority after 3 months (and will have 2nd very soon)."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"She's new, she's still got another week until she officially takes over, so I'll probably have a different opinion in a month. But in the present state, I'd just get more things fixed (preventative maintenance) so that the front desk's (currently poor) customer service wouldn't be necessary with literally every guest to keep them from getting their rooms comped and getting complaints. Other than that, keeping on top of some issues with third party travel sites, updating some amenities... and more pressure on the housekeepers (and a higher wage per room - they make so little money ($4 a room) that I understand why things don't get cleaned)."

Way You Work 5 / 5 Person You Work For 4 / 5 People You Work With 2 / 5
Support You Get 2 / 5 Company Culture 2 / 5 Work Setting 2 / 5
Rewards You Receive 1 / 5 Growth Opportunities 1 / 5
General Manager
Posted 2 years ago in Mystic, CT

"At times frustrating and at time great."

What do you like about working at Best Western?

"The people; internal and external. In addition the empowerment and freedom to make a decision,"

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Have patience and don not expect things to get better over night."

What don't you like about working at Best Western?

"Ownership did not try to build the business but rather treated it as a money tree."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Put additional monies into the business; the person suffering the most is the customer."

Support You Get 1 / 5 Growth Opportunities 1 / 5 Person You Work For 3 / 5
Work Setting 1 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5 Company Culture 2 / 5
People You Work With 3 / 5 Rewards You Receive 2 / 5
Director of Sales
Posted 2 years ago in Phoenix, AZ
Work Setting 5 / 5 People You Work With 4.3 / 5 Support You Get 4.1 / 5
Way You Work 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 4 / 5
Company Culture 4 / 5
Front Desk Clerk
Posted 2 years ago
People You Work With 4.2 / 5 Person You Work For 3.1 / 5 Company Culture 2.6 / 5
Rewards You Receive 1.9 / 5 Way You Work 4.3 / 5 Support You Get 3.2 / 5
Work Setting 3.6 / 5 Growth Opportunities 1.6 / 5
Front Desk Representative
Posted 2 years ago in Santa Ana, CA
Way You Work 2.1 / 5 Growth Opportunities 1.6 / 5 Company Culture 3.8 / 5
Person You Work For 3.9 / 5 Work Setting 4.5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 2.4 / 5
People You Work With 3 / 5 Support You Get 3.4 / 5
Regional Manager
Posted 2 years ago
Way You Work 3.1 / 5 Growth Opportunities 1.7 / 5 Support You Get 2 / 5
Company Culture 2 / 5 Person You Work For 3.1 / 5 People You Work With 4.9 / 5
Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Work Setting 4.9 / 5
Night Auditor
Posted 2 years ago in Santa Ana, CA
Person You Work For 4.7 / 5 Company Culture 3.9 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5
Work Setting 3 / 5 Way You Work 4.9 / 5 Support You Get 4.9 / 5
Growth Opportunities 3.9 / 5 People You Work With 4.9 / 5
Front Desk Clerk
Posted 2 years ago
Person You Work For 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 4.8 / 5 Work Setting 4.7 / 5
Company Culture 4.7 / 5 Growth Opportunities 4.7 / 5 Way You Work 4.7 / 5
People You Work With 4.5 / 5 Support You Get 4.6 / 5
Receptionist
Posted 2 years ago in Myrtle Beach, SC
Way You Work 3.1 / 5 Person You Work For 4.5 / 5 Company Culture 3.1 / 5
Work Setting 3.5 / 5 People You Work With 3.5 / 5 Support You Get 3.5 / 5
Growth Opportunities 3 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3.1 / 5
Laundry Attendant
Posted 2 years ago in Roanoke, VA
Work Setting 4.9 / 5 Support You Get 2.1 / 5 Person You Work For 3 / 5
People You Work With 4.9 / 5 Rewards You Receive 2.1 / 5 Company Culture 4.7 / 5
Growth Opportunities 1.1 / 5 Way You Work 4.7 / 5
Maintenance Technician
Posted 2 years ago
Person You Work For 1.5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 2 / 5 Support You Get 1.7 / 5
Work Setting 1.7 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3.6 / 5 Way You Work 2.9 / 5
People You Work With 1.5 / 5 Company Culture 3.4 / 5
We noticed that your web browser is outdated!

Update your browser to have a more positive job search experience.

Upgrade My Browser

×