Company Menu

Applebee's Neighborhood Bar & Grill Reviews

On average, employees at Applebee's Neighborhood Bar & Grill give their company a 3.5 rating out of 5.0 - which is 8% lower than the average rating for all companies on CareerBliss. The happiest Applebee's Neighborhood Bar & Grill employees are Servers submitting an average rating of 3.4 and Bartenders with a rating of 3.0. Browse Applebee's Neighborhood Bar & Grill Reviews by Job Title →

5
6
11
2
1
3.5
Average Rating
(based on 25 Applebee's Neighborhood Bar & Grill Review Ratings)
Company Culture 3.2
Growth Opportunities 2.9
People You Work With 4.0
Person You Work For 3.7
Rewards You Receive 3.0
Support You Get 3.3
Way You Work 3.9
Work Setting 3.7

Applebee's Neighborhood Bar & Grill Jobs

View All »

35 Applebee's Neighborhood Bar & Grill Company Reviews and Ratings

4.0Posted 2 months ago in Valdosta, GA
"I only worked for Applebees for a few months due to the fact that I recently graduated from college and am now seeking a career. I maintained great relationships with my coworkers as well as managers and always found a way to complete my task at hand. Although I was only there for a short period of time I was able to enhance my customer service abilities greatly and became a more effective communicator."
Server
Posted last month in Valdosta, GA

"I only worked for Applebees for a few months due to the fact that I recently graduated from college and am now seeking a career. I maintained great relationships with my coworkers as well as managers and always found a way to complete my task at hand. Although I was only there for a short period of time I was able to enhance my customer service abilities greatly and became a more effective communicator."

Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Person You Work For 4 / 5 Company Culture 2 / 5
Work Setting 4 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5
People You Work With 5 / 5 Support You Get 4 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 6 months ago in Auburn, AL

"It was alright, the only bad thing was that you often get terrible tippers and when I worked there, we could not do automatic gratuity."

Work Setting 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 2 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5
Company Culture 3 / 5 Rewards You Receive 2 / 5 Person You Work For 4 / 5
People You Work With 3 / 5 Support You Get 3 / 5

Company-Industry Rating Comparison

3.5
Applebee's Neighborhood Bar & Grill (35)

4.5 Highest Rated in this Industry is Round Table Pizza (10)
3.0 Lowest Rated in this Industry is Levy Restaurants (14)
3.7 Average of All Companies in this Industry (3,760)
Restaurant Manager
Posted 8 months ago in Temple City, CA

"I worked for the Applebees franchise for 1 1/2 years. I liked most of the people I worked with. However, the last G.M. I worked for was a complete and total buffoon. He had poor personal hygiene and smelled like he did not know what a shower was. He was rude and overbearing and made it hard to do your job."

Growth Opportunities 1 / 5 Person You Work For 1 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5
Company Culture 2 / 5 Way You Work 3 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5
Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 Support You Get 2 / 5
Anonymous Employee
Posted 10 months ago in Pittsburg, KS

"I have worked at Applebees for less than a year. The friendly environment is great. I would recommencement it for some one trying to improve their experience."

People You Work With 3.3 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3.3 / 5 Company Culture 3.3 / 5
Person You Work For 3.3 / 5 Work Setting 3.3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 3.3 / 5
Way You Work 3.3 / 5 Support You Get 3.3 / 5

Average Applebee's Neighborhood Bar & Grill Ratings in the Past 3 Years

Year Salary
2011 $3
2012 $3
2013 $2
General Manager
Posted last year in Stafford, VA

"One of the worst groups I have ever had displeasure of working for."

What do you like about working at Applebee's Neighborhood Bar & Grill?

"I only had to see my AD twice a month."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Dont even think about it, unless working for a group that has no idea what they are doing."

What don't you like about working at Applebee's Neighborhood Bar & Grill?

"Above the GM level the leadership is clueless, and unprofessional."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Drug test your knew hires, accept responsiblity for your poor hiring choices."

Support You Get 2 / 5 Company Culture 2 / 5 Work Setting 1 / 5
Rewards You Receive 1 / 5 People You Work With 1 / 5 Growth Opportunities 1 / 5
Way You Work 2 / 5 Person You Work For 1 / 5
Bartender
Posted last year in Norwalk, CA

"Fun and laid back, but not an exceptional experience."

What do you like about working at Applebee's Neighborhood Bar & Grill?

"AppleBees really appreciated hard work. They showed their appreciation for me by promoting me quickly."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Work hard, you will be appreciated. Do not get too comfortable though, otherwise you may get stuck there like the others."

What don't you like about working at Applebee's Neighborhood Bar & Grill?

"The building was not well maintained and the area brought in difficult guests."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Do not always assume that the customer was right, because there are many customers here that lie to get a free meal."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 2 / 5 Support You Get 1 / 5
Company Culture 3 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5
Rewards You Receive 5 / 5 Work Setting 1 / 5
Bartender
Posted last year in Exton, PA

What do you like about working at Applebee's Neighborhood Bar & Grill?

"Doing different things every day, taking leadership positions, teamwork, collaboration, problem-solving, thinking on my feet"

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"This job can't support you if you're living on your own; plan to go into management as soon as possible, if you can navigate the political climate"

What don't you like about working at Applebee's Neighborhood Bar & Grill?

"Very stressful environment due to the nature of the job, managers need to help us manage that stress better, build a team mentality"

What suggestions do you have for management?

"More consistency, more active leadership front of house, setting clearer expectations, keeping up with morale and boosting it when necessary, helping us enjoy our work, reducing the stress of the workplace"

Work Setting 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 2 / 5 Rewards You Receive 1 / 5
People You Work With 3 / 5 Support You Get 3 / 5 Way You Work 2 / 5
Person You Work For 2 / 5 Company Culture 3 / 5
Line Cook
Posted this month in Oxford, MS

"I enjoyed working as a cook. Making good food makes people happy."

What do you like about working at Applebee's Neighborhood Bar & Grill?

"Learning new recipes, and the employees were a blast to work with there was never a dull day."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Just make sure you have a sense of humor and get along with everybody."

What don't you like about working at Applebee's Neighborhood Bar & Grill?

"The only thing I did not like working at the company was on football game days, it would get way to hectic, but was able to keep up with the orders."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"I thought that he should be a little more flexible and sympathetic when it came to kids, if I had to miss a day of work b/c a child was sick."

Work Setting 5 / 5 Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5
Way You Work 5 / 5 Support You Get 5 / 5 Company Culture 4 / 5
Person You Work For 4 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5
Cook
Posted this month in Rancho Cucamonga, CA

What do you like about working at Applebee's Neighborhood Bar & Grill?

"I like the people and the job title as well as the food"

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"be confident and strong with you words cause in the restaurate business you have to be"

What don't you like about working at Applebee's Neighborhood Bar & Grill?

"I did not like that it was very far from my home"

What suggestions do you have for management?

"to keep on doing what they are doing cause they have a great team"

Rewards You Receive 5 / 5 Person You Work For 5 / 5 Work Setting 5 / 5
Company Culture 5 / 5 Support You Get 5 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5
Growth Opportunities 5 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
Bartender
Posted 2 years ago in Germantown, MD

"Great experience working and interacting with a variety of people."

What do you like about working at Applebee's Neighborhood Bar & Grill?

"I was able to interact with a variety of people on a constant basis."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Be prepared to have a think skin, work late hours then be able to open the next day."

What don't you like about working at Applebee's Neighborhood Bar & Grill?

"Applebee's did not offer any benefits for the employees. Working til 2 to 3 am."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"They treated their employees like humans rather then robots operations will work better."

Rewards You Receive 3 / 5 Work Setting 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 1 / 5
Way You Work 5 / 5 Person You Work For 5 / 5 Company Culture 1 / 5
People You Work With 5 / 5 Support You Get 2 / 5
Server
Posted 2 years ago in Henderson, KY

What do you like about working at Applebee's Neighborhood Bar & Grill?

"I like the people I work with. I enjoy multitasking."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"I wouldn't recommend anyone to work at Applebee's, to make any money you have work split shifts. And unless your buddies with the bosses your not becoming a bartender."

What don't you like about working at Applebee's Neighborhood Bar & Grill?

"The unorganization that ensues from hiring faulty waitstaff. Night shifts are ridiculously chaotic not because it's busy but because there is no team work."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"If I could I fire the workers who do not do their job."

Person You Work For 5 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5
Support You Get 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 1 / 5 Way You Work 3 / 5
Company Culture 2 / 5 Rewards You Receive 1 / 5
Manager
Posted 2 years ago in Bossier City, LA

"Very informative job fast paced and fun"

What do you like about working at Applebee's Neighborhood Bar & Grill?

"Fast paced and fun. I wanted to learn all aspects of the business"

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Lots of work loads to learn stay positive absorb everything."

What don't you like about working at Applebee's Neighborhood Bar & Grill?

"Wanted to move up in management, looked forward to being a district manager."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Lots of training and knowledge needed to do a great job."

Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 Company Culture 4 / 5 Person You Work For 4 / 5
Work Setting 5 / 5 Growth Opportunities 5 / 5 Way You Work 5 / 5
People You Work With 4 / 5 Support You Get 4 / 5
Food Server
Posted 2 years ago in Temple Terrace, FL

"The worst job I had ever worked but I'm a better person for it."

What do you like about working at Applebee's Neighborhood Bar & Grill?

"The only thing that was enjoyable about working at Applebees were some of my co-workers."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"If you need the money find another restaurant to work for."

What don't you like about working at Applebee's Neighborhood Bar & Grill?

"The people were for the most part horrible, some of management did a bad job as well."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Honestly, I have a lot of things but the most important thing is listen to their employees."

People You Work With 3 / 5 Growth Opportunities 2 / 5 Person You Work For 2 / 5
Way You Work 5 / 5 Work Setting 1 / 5 Support You Get 1 / 5
Company Culture 2 / 5 Rewards You Receive 1 / 5
Host
Posted 2 years ago in Freehold, NJ

"I have learned about how a restaurant chain operates."

What do you like about working at Applebee's Neighborhood Bar & Grill?

"I got to see how people get waited on and get fast service."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"If you just want to get started with a new career, this should be the place."

What don't you like about working at Applebee's Neighborhood Bar & Grill?

"There wasn't much for me to do other than just standing by the door welcoming people in."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Keep on serving the people well and they'll keep coming back for seconds."

Company Culture 4 / 5 Rewards You Receive 1 / 5 Work Setting 3 / 5
Growth Opportunities 4 / 5 People You Work With 5 / 5 Way You Work 3 / 5
Person You Work For 2 / 5 Support You Get 4 / 5
Expediter
Posted 2 years ago in Waco, TX

What do you like about working at Applebee's Neighborhood Bar & Grill?

"The culture was very fun as all of the workers sought to have a good time while they were at work."

Do you have any tips for others interviewing with this company?

"Demonstrate your ability to handle a fast-paced environment and deal with dissatisfied customers."

What don't you like about working at Applebee's Neighborhood Bar & Grill?

"The food was very low quality for a sit-down restaurant and the CEO pushed to move more food to be microwavable."

What suggestions do you have for management?

"Offer quality food to people who are paying $12 for an entree."

Support You Get 3 / 5 Person You Work For 4 / 5 Way You Work 4 / 5
Rewards You Receive 4 / 5 People You Work With 4 / 5 Work Setting 4 / 5
Company Culture 4 / 5 Growth Opportunities 4 / 5
We noticed that your web browser is outdated!

Update your browser to have a more positive job search experience.

Upgrade My Browser

×